Savvy Skeins at KnitCircus

Savvy Skeins 4

Last week we welcomed the 2nd indie-dyer trunk show to the KnitCircus store! For the last couple of months I have been excitedly awaiting our shipment of Savvy Skeins yarn. Ever since I first discovered Ali’s yarn around 2013 or 2014, I’ve been captivated by her use of color. Gorgeous hues come together to make the most interesting variegated colorways and her pin-point speckles are spot on (forgive the pun). Getting the chance to host her hand-dyed yarn here at KnitCircus is truly a treat.

Surfing the Savvy Skeins Instagram account and periodically visiting her website over the years, I came to love a few specific colorways and looked forward to possibly seeing these in person. And while Rusted Wagon Wheel, Boots and Spurs, and Pumpkin Spice Latte did not disappoint, I found myself unexpectedly drawn to a few other skeins. When I saw the soft, cool tones of Storm Chaser I immediately pictured a pair of textured socks like the Hermione’s Everyday socks by Erica Lueder. I love knitting those as there’s just enough patterning to make them interesting, but the stitch sequence is easy to memorize. Savvy Skeins’s Sensible Sock is the perfect base for knitting socks with it’s 80/20 merino wool and nylon combo.

Savvy Skeins 1

I’m usually a fan of earth tones and neutrals, so I was surprised when I found myself repeatedly picking up a skein of the Psychedelic Sister colorway. The colors in this yarn are so fun and unexpected! A bright turquoise base is splattered with hot picks, greens, and purples in a random, artistic way. I think this yarn would make the cutest and most unique Flax Light baby sweater. The Flax Light is a versatile pullover that every man, woman, and child should own, and there’s just enough yarn in one skein of Ali’s 100% merino Lavish Sock base to knit the smallest size. What a fashion statement that would be on a little one!

Savvy Skeins 3

I just love it when I’m so inspired by color and these yarns are speaking to me, wishing to become fabulous handknitted items. Come find out which ones speak to you! We will have our Savvy Skeins trunk show set up for the rest of March, but be sure to hurry if you’d like to see the whole selection, we’ve already seen some skeins go out the door to their new homes. We hope to see you soon!

Savvy Skeins 2

-Jennifer

KnitCircus store manager

Leave a comment