May Rainbows and Rhubarb


ImageOkay, I’ll admit it, I always had a secret desire to dye a rainbow. At first I squelched it, because it reminded me of sticker collecting in fourth grade and I figured knitters are more sophisticated than that. And then I squelched it because sometimes rainbows can have political meaning, and I didn’t want to make people feel left out. And then I feared that the colors would run and it would turn out muddy. But one day in the Lair, I was feeling playful and Chris had prepared some extra yarn for new colorways and so we just went for it! The result: Over the Rainbow, and I’m head over heels.

I chose my favorite classic dye color for each shade (of course, we have seven different reds, five yellows, six blues, etc…) and lined them up in the skein. Rainbow purists can and should point out that my rainbow doesn’t follow the classic ROY-G-BIV arrangement, and this was purposeful, mainly to safeguard the yellow from the other, deeper colors. And this rainbow made it though washing and drying with all of the colors still vibrant. The fourth-grade rainbow lover in me came skipping out and gleefully claimed the first set.Image

This color combination made me so happy that I immediately cast on, and after just two weeks of Little League baseball, finished the first one on the way to a tournament. Two weeks may not be impressive for you speed knitters out there, but for me it’s pretty darn good. And no second sock syndrome here! The lure of the colors pulled me right through cast-on and I’m just about ready to turn the heel on the second one.



The cherry tree in our side yard is a-bloomin’. Hope we’ll get a good sour cherry crop again!

New in the Lair

My dad presented us with this rhubarb bouquet yesterday. Spring is really here! We do like rhubarb around here; one year, Belle asked for a rhubarb cake for her birthday! Since her birthday is in the fall, it was a little tricky….
This year, I was thinking of trying this Apple Pie Bar recipe from Roxana’s Home Baking and substituting cooked, sweetened rhubarb. But it’s hard to resist a good, old-fashioned rhubarb pie….
Are you all getting rhubarb? If so, please share what you’re making with it! I’d love to know.

Take care and have a lovely weekend,


4 thoughts on “May Rainbows and Rhubarb

  1. Rhubarb pie is my super-favorite. Did anyone else dip rhubarb into sugar and eat it that way when they were young?

Leave a Reply

