Knit and Dye All the Things

Hi, Knitters,

Knitting : trying to become a monogamous knitter

IMG_2447[1]

Whew, during the Olympics, I made a bunch of time to knit each day, and somehow my knitting time has melted along with most of our snow. (Still some out there, and a little fresh flurry yesterday). Since time is fleeting, I decided to get serious about trying to be a one-knitter-one-project kind of gal. To that end, I’ve been making a little progress on the sleeve of my Argo.Since this is my first top-down, one-piece sweater to reach this point, have discovered that this means you’re dangling (and periodically spinning to unwind) the whole rest of the sweater while working the sleeve rounds. Anybody come up with a clever fix for this? Or is this exactly why people like the old school, knit-it-in-pieces sweater?

March-April Yarn Club Ready

matching socks club

So, now that we have three people on the Knitcircus team, it’s much faster to dye things, since I can, you know, spend my time dyeing yarn instead of packaging and creating spreadsheets. Thank goodness for Chris and Amy J!

IMG_2441[1]This means that all of the Early Spring matching Socks sets are done and all of our regular members have packages in the mail. (the Lemon Meringue gradient on top was just for fun, and does not reveal the secret colorway inside) If you haven’t and would like to get just a taste of the Club, you can purchase just one and it’ll be in the mail very soon!

Fish Lips Kiss Heel

photo copyright Patty-Joy White, the Sox Therapist on Ravelry

photo copyright Patty-Joy White, the Sox Therapist on Ravelry

In the process of researching good patterns to make with the Sock Club yarn, I found out about the pattern/e-book that’s causing a stir on Ravelry, the Fish Lips Kiss Heel, by the Sox Therapist. One night last week, I made the 16-page tutorial/e-book my bedtime reading, and fascinating material it is! As usual, I’m late to the party, as the 1162 of you with finished socks can attest, but wow, so cool!

I’m a huge toe-up fan, as you may know, because toe-up design means you never have to leave any good yarn behind (I’m still sad about knitting a top-down sock that got rid of a whole color in one of my gradients). The FIsh Lips Kiss incorporates Patty-Joy’s versions of a short-row heel which are much easier and prettier to make than the traditional short rows, and a fit method which seems foolproof.

I’m agog to try the Fish Lips Heel, but determined not to start that project until I finish my pair of Fingerless Gloves Leaves. At least if I can’t achieve true single-minded knitting, I can only cast one a project when I finish another one! Right now; doing some Secret test-knitting for an upcoming pattern, just testing that the mathematical progression of increases actually works like I think it does.

Yarn Con

yarns everywhere

We’re very busy in the Liar getting ready for Yarn Con! It’s in Chicago, April 5-6, and I hope to see some of you wonderful readers there! Please do bring any finished objects you’ve made with the yarn, because you wouldn’t believe how thrilling it is for us. So we’re making many, many yarns which we’re trying to get up into the shop while we can. Then when we pack up and head to Yarn Con, they’ll all be down for a little while as we hobnob with wonderful Chicago knitters!

Mmmm, Pie

Not related to knitting, but I’m just having a craving for a slice of the Union’s black bottom pie (a vanilla custard pie with a layer of semi-sweet chocolate on the bottom). Unfortunately, though the Union’s physical upgrade has made it much prettier, they seem to be making it now with all boxed stuff and it’s not nearly as tasty as the old-fashioned homemade version. I think we’ll have to make it ourselves if we want a really good pie. Has anyone tried or can recommend a good homemade custard pie recipe? I know this is obscure, but you never know what expertise knitters hold!

Take care,

Jaala

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Knit and Dye All the Things

  1. Jaala, I had exactly that same sleeve problem, until a friend told me I should be spinning and unwinding the *sleeve*, not the sweater. Simple, but it totally blew my mind and made things go much faster. Good luck, the sweater looks gorgeous so far!

  2. 1. I have found it can help with the twisting to put the ball of yarn inside the garment; it makes pulling out the yarn a bit pickier, but no twisting. Having the yarn in a center-pull ball makes this less tedious.

    2. Oh, that Black Bottom Pie, the version they made in the 60’s. Yum! So sad that they’ve switched to packaged. I always thought of it as a vanilla pudding rather than an egg custard, but memory may be failing me…

  3. I have a vanilla….I don’t know if it’s pudding or custard (I suspect pudding) pie that was passed down from my great-grandmother. We just throw it in a graham cracker crust but I’m sure there’s a way to do it with a layer of chocolate in there.

    I might have to experiment.

Leave a Reply

