New Pattern: My Darling Wristwarmers

Hey, Knitters!

my darling mitts in the snow

my darling mitts in the snow

It’s such a busy time in the Lair, working on a huge, secret project and getting the Gradient Club orders out, but last weekend, I took a little time to make my daughter a knitted treat. These little wristwarmers knit up so fast and were such potato-chip knitting (can’t make just one) that I had to share them with you.


One of the schoolteachers in my grown-up knitting class brought in mitts similar to this and asked if she could knit some new ones. Knit flat, no thumb gusset, seamed up the side, worsted weight…as it turns out, perfect beginner mitts! When I bound them off, the finished purple mitts were instantly claimed by my darling daughter. She loves them, and I love that she loves them!


So I called them My Darling Mitts, after my sweet tweenager. My li’l darlin’ girl hasn’t had an easy run of it, and has endured years of sickness and other health challenges. I don’t know if we finally found the right pieces of the puzzle or she’s just growing out of some of it (please, please, please yes) but she’s seemed really happy lately. Not sick, not sad, but energetic, hopping about, hugging us, crossing her eyes, making jokes.


So here’s to my lil darlin.’ I wish everyone the best health and happiness for the new year. These mitts have some very happy mojo in them to pass on!

Take care,


PS I forgot to mention that the yarn is Knitcircus Harlequin in the Tiny Princess colorway. You could easily substitute any light worsted yarn like Tosh DK, Berocco Vintage or Malabrigo Rios.

Leave a Reply

