Fall Knitting Fun

Ah, we can feel knitting season in the air, dry and crisp like a nice linen yarn.Image

Maybe it was the cold air coming in the window, but I woke up in the middle of the night. My thoughts got more revved up as I lay there, so once I gave up on going back to sleep and went to the Lair, ideas started flying, and I charted up several new designs. This stripy one combines two of my favorite Fall kettle-dyes, Redwood and Chocolate Mousse, for a shawl that will be easy to pick up and put down as autumn’s busy days dictate.

Photo Shoot!

Once all of the designing, ripping, editing, re-knitting, testing, re-editing, revising, tinking, pinning and blocking is done, the photoshoot really brings the satisfaction to a finished object. Elizabeth put her photographer’s hat on and we spent a happy time wandering the trails of the Owen Conservation Park and shooting the pattern photos. One I can’t reveal yet (hint; you Yarn Clubbers will see it soon). The other will be released shortly, and there’s a clue in the last photo here.

Elizabeth shot the knitted goodies; I haven’t gotten her shots yet, but here are some photos I took of the gorgeous Fall day at the park:





Cable and ribbing and gradient, oh my! Can’t wait to share the rest with you….

This weekend, we’ll be visiting friends in Viroqua, which means I get to check out one of my favorite LYS’s, Ewetopia! Kathryn got a huge, new space a year or two ago, which she fills with shelves upon shelves of her hand-dyed yarns and clever kits. I’m looking forward to taking it all in…

Happy autumn to all of you, and have a lovely weekend,


Leave a Reply

