Stitches Midwest and Chicago Honeymoon

Last week, my parents took the kids on a train trip to the Rocky Mountains. They had a wonderful time scrambling up Eagle Cliff, Emerald Mountain and driving up the highest highway in the world.

Meanwhile, Mike and I had a whole week to ourselves. Just the two of us! We had hotel reservations in Chicago for a mini-honeymoon weekend. We started off with a bang, stopping at Stitches Midwest on the way down; Mike used the hotel lounge and wifi while I took a whirlwind tour of the marketplace, hitting all of my favorite booths and greeting friends. It was so good to see Stephannie Tallent with her book at the Cooperative Press booth, and an unexpected pleasure to run into Michelle Miller and her shawls at the Zen Yarn Garden booth. Both of those designers have all kinds of exciting projects going!

The yarn above was an impulse purchase at the Dragonfly Fibers booth; Kate had painted so many enticing colors into one skein, called Bad Moon Rising, that I had to have it. You can see I’ve already started knitting with that yarn! Kate had really expanded her inventory and colors; I just love her work, and her motto, “The Colors of Happiness.”

Miss Babs’ booth was floor-to-ceiling yarn, and oh, her colors! And I got to meet Antonio, of Malabrigo Yarns, which was especially fun, since I was wearing the Red Sumac shawl, and he instantly recognized the Silky Merino.

Sunday Knits, Tuckerwoods Farm, Tot Toppers–so many wonderful yarns! And for the first time, our LYS The Knitting Tree had a booth, so there were some more friendly faces.

We found our hotel, and discovered that it was only two buildings away from the Willis Tower! We didn’t go up it this trip, but we did look up at it quite often.🙂

Of course, the architecture in downtown Chicago is just dazzling, with Louis Sullivan buildings and all kinds of skyscrapers with carvings, scroll work and columns, sometimes in unexpected places, like 20 stories up!

We spent an entire day in the Art Institute; I could have spent most of the day parked in front of Monet’s Haystacks series.

Last time I saw them I wanted to recreate the colors in a complex, colorwork scarf, now this makes my fingers itchy to dye some yarn in Haystacks palettes…

And, of course, the Water Lilies (my current desktop wallpaper)

They let you just take photos of all the Permanent Collection things any time you want! This still boggles my mind, just like I feel like I’m getting away with something stepping out of the library with a backpack full of books.

Saturday, Mike generously agreed to go to Loopy Yarns, and we got in just in time for the Yarn Crawl special hours and prices. A lovely shop! They had Alicia Goes Around, SweetGeorgia, Baah Yarns, a wall of Cascade colors and of course, Chicago yarns Madelinetosh and Dream in Color. I took home this skein of Cascade Quatro as a souvenir yarn.

The best part of the vacation: remembering how much Mike and I enjoy spending time together. That was a precious gift. Thanks, Mom and Dad!

2 thoughts on “Stitches Midwest and Chicago Honeymoon

Leave a Reply

