Blog Tour: California Revival Knits

You all know how big a fan I am of designer, Knitcircus tech-editor, and now author Stephannie Tallent, so am thrilled to be a part of the California Revival Knits blog tour!

California Revival Knits showcases Stephannie’s fascination with local architecture style Spanish Revival, known for tilework and wrought-iron fencing. She translates this inspiration into colorwork, lace and twisted-stitch patterns using small and independent yarns which show off her stitches beautifully.

Peacock Shawl

While Stephannie has made a name for herself with beautifully complex cable and other patterns, this book provides several projects that would make great stepping-stones for knitters looking for a first  try at some exciting techniques.

The Peacock Shawl looks very impressive, but would make a wonderful entree into lace. Each of the different motifs is very achievable, with no side shaping to worry about.

Peacock Shawl modeled

The wonderful Quatrefoil Mittens and Mitts, especially the wristwarmer version, would make a great first foray into stranded knitting; the geometric pattern moves in an intuitive diamond, and you’re carrying your yarn only a few stitches at a time.

Quatrefoil Mittens

Quatrefoil Mitts

Stephannie taught an Introduction to Beading class at the Spring Knitcircus retreat, and it was so much fun to see her students succeeding at this complicated-looking, but easy-to-work technique! The Tiles Sweater is a wonderful chance to give this technique a try if you’ve knitted sweaters before and would like a little challenge! You only have to place beads on a few rows for this dramatic and flattering effect.

Tiles Sweater

Tiles Sweater detail

And one lucky reader will have a chance to try any or all of these techniques, because Stephannie has generously provided a copy of the California Revival Knits e-book to give away!

Just leave a comment here about California Revival Knits or a design from the Sunset Cat site you’d love to cast on, and the Random Number Generator will pick a winner Monday, June 11th.

20 thoughts on “Blog Tour: California Revival Knits

  1. I’d love to win a copy of this book. My first cast on would be the Tiles sweater! Linda or MTknitter on Ravelry

  2. I wish I was closer so I could attend the retreats, but a copy of the book is the next best thing. Pick me, pick me, please. Michele

  3. The quatrefoil patterns are very tempting. And the peacock cowl and mitts are absolutely gorgeous! There are quite a few things I’d cast on right now…

  4. I do love a good book🙂

    I’ve looked at the Wrought Socks and Wrought Mitts a few times and I think those would be good for me (especially with the move coming up)…..but I do like the Beachcomber vest, too🙂

  5. This book looks amazing! I think I’d start with the Wrought Mitts, then maybe the Undersea Garden Cowl, and then… Seriously, hard to decide, they are all gorgeous!

  6. I love the book and it would be great to win a copy. It’s hard to choose between the Peacock Shawl, the Wrought Mitts and the Tiles Sweater for a first project.

    Congratulations on a great book!

  7. I love the whole book. I saw an other review of it and it is on my list of books to purchase a.s.a.p. I would start by the series of wrought iron items. Beret, mitts, cardi, then work my way to the colorwork items. Keeping my fingers crossed.Thanks for the chance to win.

  8. There isn’t a single pattern I’ve seen from this book that I don’t want to make! Great job and thanks for the chance to win!

  9. I am a huge fan of all the Wrought items and joined the KAL for the mitts on Ravelry. Would love to be able to get the rest of the patterns.

  10. I would like to knit the Ravens in the Snow mitts. I really enjoyed her website and am especially fond of the way she showcases her mitt patterns with attractive models. I left her site smiling.

Leave a Reply

