Knitting Recipes: Hats and Cowls E-book Giveaway

Welcome FickleKnitter readers; Michelle Miller’s designs have been inspiring me for years, and her book, Leaves, Vol. 1, shows the best of what self-publishing can do, marrying technique and aesthetics in a gorgeous format.

Now you have a chance to add to your independent designer collection with my Knitting Recipes: Hats and Cowls E-book. When you have a couple of favorite skeins in hand and want to make a quick gift, these recipes let you easily match your yarn to needles, cast-on numbers and stitch patterns. You’ll be casting on in no time for any length cowl, top-down and bottom-up hats, no swatching needed!

The progressive e-book sends you patterns right away as each is published, then you’ll receive the whole collection of 15 patterns, plus the recipes, stitch patterns and embellishment techniques, when the e-book is published in August.

To enter the contest:

Visit Fickleknitter’s site, and let me know what you like over there! Leave a comment here. Tweeting/retweeting about the contest also counts as an entry.

You have until Monday evening, May 21st, to enter the contest.

Three runners-up will also receive a PDF of one of the published patterns: Michigan Waves Hat, Marinette CowlWoven Reed Hat and Cowl, Definitely Hers Hat.

It’s a pleasure to work with Michelle, as always!

41 thoughts on “Knitting Recipes: Hats and Cowls E-book Giveaway

  1. Pingback: Sponsoring the Knitcircus Newsletter & A Contest |

  2. What I love most about Fickleknitter’s site is the beautiful yarns she chooses for her samples! That’s true of the eBook samples in this post, too. Of the patterns, I like the Slouchee Lace Hat most, or maybe I’m just looking forward to making hats from this book.

  3. I love the shawls and everything, really. The patterns are well written and straightforward to follow. Yet, the pieces are complex and elegant and give such a feeling of accomplishment and “I learned something” when completed. I also love the fact that most can be knitted with a single skein of yarn! Such beauty, never boring, and all from a single skein of yarn. Who could ask for more!

  4. I really enjoyed Fickleknitter’s site overall…. loved her article on why knitting patterns aren’t free – funny, real, and informative! Also love her patterns, the brightness of the site, and the intelligence behind her work! Thanks for the chance to win… love her Ballerina Wrap and also love your designs! Stephanie (indigodogmt on Ravelry)

  5. I love that she has so many one-skein projects. She also has so many lace designs to choose from. I did enjoy her article about why knitting patterns aren’t free as well. Knitterlydesigns on Ravelry

  6. Love the fickleknitter blog. Thrilled you have teamed up! One of my favorites is her Silver Spoon one-skein shawl. Amazing! amchart on Rav

  7. There isn’t one thing I love about Fickleknitter — I love everything about her site. My current favorite is her blog on why patterns aren’t free.

  8. This is such an awesome site! How did I not know of your designs? I love your Michigan Waves Reversible Cabled Hat. I enjoy listening to podcasts and am so glad to have found a new one to enjoy as I’m knitting. Thank you for sharing your talents!

  9. I really like the Silver Spoon One Skein Shawl. I am new to lace knitting and really want to try a shawl, this one looks like a good place to start.

  10. Well, I liked the article on why her payers aren’t free. I can’t believe people really ask that question! Bit, being a teacher, I am always interested in how a person got to his/her profession and what their educational background is. She did a great job explaining hers! I’m sending a link to the article to my son, who has an undergraduate degree in physics and his masters in operation research. He Willie interested in her story.

  11. I love the shawls on Fickleknitter’s site, and her straightforward, no-nonsense writing style. I thought her post about why patterns aren’t free was spot-on.

  12. I love the “turnaround” interview of you, as I am more acquainted with your interviews in Knitcircus. Michelle’s one-skein shawls are my favorite shawl patterns, not only because I have so many single skeins, but also because the patterns are easily read and followed and they bring so many oooooh’s and aaaaah’s whenever they are worn!

  13. I love the mary jane slippers. Having scanned the comments above me, though, I want to go read the post about patterns for a fee. thanks for the giveaway.

  14. My favorite is the Flambe One Skein Shawl. The explanation of all the work and money that goes into pattern creation was really interesting too.

  15. I love the Silver Spoon One Skein Shawl! It is so elegant! I also enjoyed the excellent tutorial on how to knit with beads!

Leave a Reply

