Sparkly Yarns Giveaway

Putting together the Sparkly Yarns article for this week’s newsletter was so much fun, thought you might like to see some more shiny, shiny yarn photos!

Loop Hardcore Artyarn

Loop Hardcore Art Yarn

Berrocco Blackstone Tweed Metallic and KnitPicks Stroll Glimmer

Berrocco Blackstone Tweed Metallic and KnitPicks Stroll Glimmer

Mocha's Fiber Designs at Tuckerwoods Farm SIlver Optima

Mocha's Fiber Designs at Tuckerwoods Farm Silver Optima

Squoosh Fiberarts Glint Lace

Squoosh Fiberarts Glint Lace

Check them out here:

Loop Art Yarn

Berrocco Blackstone Tweed

Squoosh Fiberarts

Knitpicks Stroll Glimmer

Mocha’s Fiber Designs


And now, you could be one of the lucky winners who gets to try one of these glittering yarns for yourself! One winner will receive both of the Blackstone Tweed Metallic skeins, and another will get to take home the Squoosh Fiberarts Glint Lace!

In the last contest, people said by more than 2:1 that they like reading techniques and tips articles; please tell me which techniques you’d most like to learn!  Colorwork, cast-on’s, lace, short rows, grafting…?

Leave a comment below making sure to let me know your Ravelry/Twitter handle or email; or mention/retweet on Twitter to be entered for a chance to win! US and Canada only, please. Winners will be chosen by Random Number Generator and notified Wednesday, February 23rd.

34 thoughts on “Sparkly Yarns Giveaway

  1. The thing I most need to learn is finishing techniques starting with the very basic steps. Done with the knit part now walk me thru all the parts I dread because I feel so incompetent.

  2. I would like to read and learn more about fair aisle or colorwork. Although I have knitted some, my technique definitely needs improvement.
    Also some article on mending torn knits. I am currently struggling to mend an old blanket that has a large hole.It is very difficult to find article pertaining to repair. I had to substitute new yarn as well.
    As far as sparkle yarn is concerned, I tried the Kerzer yarn years ago based on a podcast review. Back then it was the only yarn and available in white or black only. Now look at all the lovely choices you’re tempting me with!

  3. I don’t believe a person can ever have too many cast-on’s & cast-off’s in their arsenal. So I vote for that 1st. Second choice is finishing. I despise finishing. When I am done knitting….I want to be done!

  4. I’m really hoping to learn to do colorwork this year, and also to knit 2 socks on 2 circs. But I also need to learn how to do seams, and button bands and shaping, and so much else. Thanks much.

  5. This year I’m working on my color work tension. It’s way too tight. Any tips about that would be helpful. I’m a complete nube about short rows. I did try it once and had gaping holes. I don’t think they were supposed to be there. So anything about doing those sans holes would be wonderful as well. Thanks for the giveaway chance. I’ve got my fingers crossed for the lace weight!

  6. I would like to learn how to knit backwards for entrelac. Ambitious, I know. It’s one of the skills I plan to learn this year. My Ravelry name is baconfairy. Thanks!

  7. The more I’ve been knitting, the more I realize that I don’t know many cast ons and cast offs – I’m always googling for ideas and don’t always find a great tutorial… hence, I’d love more info in a consolodated place on this topic. I’ve also noticed that lots of people are including beads for a little pop of interest – on shawl edgings, etc. I haven’t figured out how to do this yet… Thanks for the chance to win – love some fun glitter as this time of year it could brighten one’s day! Stephanie (indigodogmt on Rav)

  8. I love lace knitting, but am no so good at it. Double knitting and making colorful patterns would be great. I see Debbie H says spinning with a spindle – good idea too!

  9. It’s really hard to pick just one thing. You know the saying, the more you know, the more you realize how much you DON’T know? I want to know more-more-more about everything! This year I think I’d love to focus on FIT. How to make things that FIT well – whether it’s adult sweaters or kids’ hats, it would be awesome to get really proficient at being able to tweak a patterns so that things have really great FIT.
    RavID sydneypaige

  10. I’d love to learn colorwork and do some more lace knitting. Never tried short-rows either. Congrats on your new blog! (cmouse01 on Rav)

  11. I would love to learn finishing techniques. What is the best way to sew in sleeves, join sides together, etc. I enjoy knitting so much but I hate to put the pieces together. It is always hard for me to get a really flat seam.

  12. Steeks. I understand the concept and have even tried it, but I don’t really get what to do *after* you’ve cut the knitting. How do you manage (hide) all those cut-off ends?

  13. I so need to learn a better way to do colorwork! I’ve practiced and practiced and my tension is just always blech! I need some tips on the best methods.

    BTW, just realized the changes to the site and i’m so glad that knitcircus is continuing on😀

Leave a Reply

