Luxury Yarn Giveaway

Seems like it's time to perk things up; it's been cold and snowy long enough!

Today we're lucky to have some beautiful independent yarns and a shawl pin for you, to make this stretch of the calendar a little more fun.

We have two great prize pairs:

A skein of All for Love of Yarn's Eloquence Fingering, and a Foofaraw shawl pin for one lucky winner…


…And a skein of Juniper Moon Farm's Findley Lace, in the color Byzantine, and a mini-skein of Pico Accuardi fingering for a second happy knitter!


To join the giveaway, please leave a comment here letting us know which kind(s) of things you like to read or learn about knitting. Interviews with designers, indy yarn makers, techniques tutorials, funny personal stories, book and yarn reviews…what pops your toast? Or, visit Juniper Moon, Foofaraw, Pico Accuardi Dyeworks or All for Love of Yarn and tell us what else you like there! Make sure to leave your email info, ravelry or twitter handle so we can contact you if you win.Retweeting contest announcements/updates will also earn you a chance to win.

The giveaway runs through Sunday evening, January 29th, and the winners will be chosen by Random Number generation and announced Monday.

Can't wait to hear what you have to say, and good luck!







111 thoughts on “Luxury Yarn Giveaway

  1. I love to learn a new trick or stitch every time I make something. Like the Watch Cap from Wendy Johnson that I recently made. Had never done a Provisional CO before, she made it so very easy to understand and to actually follow along.

  2. I’d like to learn how to be a more proficient knitter. I need speed because I keep discovering more patterns that I want to knit and short of knitting in my sleep, I don’t know how else to get that done.
    Note–I just reread what I wrote. I do not mean that I need the drug but it might help me all the same. LOL

  3. Technique tutorials are my favourite. Specifically, how to knit to fit, especially bust darts.
    Also pattern how-to’s (not really patterns per se) that explain how to create a custom item, including calculations for fit.
    Knittingwithwords on Ravelry

  4. I have some Juniper Moon Findlay and I love it – beautiful yarn. I enjoy any new techniques for sock knitting or lace. Always looking to make a better garment.

  5. Love to read about design inspirations & technical aspects of designs. Also following the process of an idea to finished product is inspiring!
    Twitter: @PrincessMommy

  6. What beautiful yarn! As a voracious reader and a voracious knitter, I like reading almost anything about knitting. My favorites include funny knitting disaster stories and techniques/tips/tricks. I often get lost on Ravelry reading project notes on patterns. Current favorite new techniques: short row set in sleeves and the gorgeous tubular cast on.
    I’m Sweeneybird on Rav and on Twitter.

  7. I’m always interested in tips/techniques, love to learn more about designers, indie dyers, and small businesses in the fiber industry. (Love articles about wool sourcing, too.)
    Reviews of yarns (esp. indie dyers/spinners) and patterns are great too!

  8. Very pretty giveaway!
    I like hearing about the history of how folks stumbled into the industry as well as nifty tricks/techniques that I may not know about.

  9. I love those color ways! If I had to pick one thing it would be techniques in knitting, personally i would like to learn to knit more smoothly, as I am an awkward knitter. I would love to try new projects with any of these items!

  10. I like to learn about new trends that are coming. Who thought cowls would take off like they did….or maybe everyone else was paying more attention and I’m just behind….

  11. I try to make most projects a chance to learn something new, technique-wise. As far as something I’d like to read, I’d really love to see more objective yarn reviews out there-something where the drape of the yarn, the wear of the yarn, the stitch definition, would all be discussed. Perhaps even a link to a pattern it’d work with based on the review.

  12. I like to read. Anything yarn related catches my fancy. But since I’m rather new to knitting and still have a lot to learn, I like to read tutorials. I also like to read about new yarns and designer profiles. I like to read about retreats and classes people have taken; things that I might be able to do some day. Thanks for asking, and for the great giveaway.

  13. I will have to type this quickly, before I pass out, because that Eloquence Fingering has taken my breath away! I like reading about knitting techniques and yarn dyeing, but I always especially appreciate it if along with the basics of the technique, the potential pitfalls and how to avoid or deal with them are discussed. Some articles gloss over potential problems, maybe to avoid scaring off the faint-hearted. Then when something goes wrong, we don’t know how to handle it, get discouraged and perhaps never try again. I prefer to be aware of and prepared for anything that might pop up.

  14. I love being inspired but what everyone else is knitting. There is such an astounding array of patterns throughout the world, as well as amazing, gorgeous yarns…..which pre the blogging world, we would never have had access to. The new Willa range from Juniper is absolutely divine.

  15. Wonderful giveaway! I prefer to read technique tutorials. I find that there are several ways to do the same thing and I am always learning something new.

  16. I love new techniques. I’ve taught myself everything through books and articles and enjoy learning a new and/or better way to do things. I also enjoy humor and personal stories, they’re inspiring and help keep me going.🙂

  17. This year my new years resolution is to master Fair Isle. I am from Shetland and think that i owe it to myself as a local as well as a knitter. I am drooling over Kate Davies Rams and Yowes at the moment, but that would be a long ways off.

  18. I love to hear about the design process for those creative people, and also enjoy technique articles. Really love hearing about new yarns, too!
    -Nan (yoganan on Ravelry)

  19. Right now I’m on a history of fiber, knitting, crocheting, tatting, etc. kick. Also, I’ve joined a few blog-alongs with fellow fiber artists and am enjoying seeing everyone’s creativity. I can be found on Twitter most days @sarahfay13

  20. I’m addicted to Ravelry and I love knitting books and tutorials, but I would really like to read more (honest) yarn reviews.

  21. Knitting techniques and tutorials. It’s always great to learn new ways to do things. Also, taking a new interest in color techniques. Great site🙂

  22. I haven’t been knitting all that long, so I really like tips and techniques. Sometimes the easiest technique just doesn’t make sense to me in one explanation; I surf up another take on it and find out it really is a piece of cake.
    Other than that, I really like the inspiration of the yarn and the designs; thanks!

  23. I had not heard of “All for Love of Yarn” before so I hopped over to the website – so lovely! I particularly like Serendipity, Eloquence pink/green and Nogi grey. Thank you for the generous giveaways.
    Rav – barrettlisa

  24. I like to learn about new knitting techniques. I also like to read about yarns and how people felt that knitting with that yarn was. I also like reading stories that incorporate knitting into them.

  25. I love learning new techniques and polishing ones I already know. I also like hearing about new products, yarns, and designers. The giveaways are beautiful – Thanks for doing them!

  26. I like to learn something. About a yarn in a yarn review or a new technique in a tutorial. As a beginning designer, I pore through interviews with established designers, looking for tips on how to succeed.

  27. I love tips on finetuning technique and troubleshooting common problems. General interest stories about the knitting culture in different parts of the world or knitter profiles (as long as they are diverse) are always fun to read. Thsnks for the giveaway! Rav ID amdeutsch

  28. The fiber batt of merino, silk and tencel in the Angelina colorway from All for Love of Yarn Etsy shop is swoon-worthy.
    AthertonGirl on Ravelry

  29. Gosh, what’s there about knitting that I don’t like to read about?? I’ll confess that above everything I like to read tutorials/tips/articles about how to be a more proficient knitter. I’m a thrower and have been wanting to knit continental and lever styles, but all online videos and tutorials really don’t go into huge detail or the photos aren’t clear enough for me. In general I would love to find ways to be more speedy.
    I also love reading about new or different techniques. Anything to improve my knitting. Lately I’ve been trying to read up on finishings…such as how to sew pieces together and whatnot. I’ve always been a “seamless knitter” cause I suck at sewing. Mainly cause I never know how to sew the pieces together by hand. What stitch do you use? How do you pin things together? Yeah, I’m useless in that department. If it was sewing by machine, I’m all over it.
    I’m misocraftyknits on both Ravelry and Twitter.

  30. I like learning new techniques and have joined a couple knit alongs that have taught me so much. Currently I am trying to cable without a cable needle and doing okay. Would love some tutorials on how to make a thumb gusset look better or rather how to pick up stitches for thumbs or underarms so that they look smooth with few holes. I find there is always something that I can learn to make knitting more fun and maybe even easier.

  31. I always find yarn and books reviews to be quite helpful. Love seeing the beautifully photo’ed finished items. My favorite? Reading about giveaways!

  32. Love that eloquence fingering + shawl pin. Dreamy!
    I love it all. I love seeing the processes involved in making good yarn, I love seeing it being worked into wonderful FOs. I love reading about the people who are talented and amazing and creative involved in all aspects.

  33. I am a stitch junkie(collector) I love to find interesting lace patterns, edgings etc. Show me the stitches.
    nafoster on Ravelry.

  34. I would love to find a tutorial on how to read lace charts – something written for those of us who are completely ignorant and just haven’t been able to understand it after months and months of failed attempts.
    I swear, I would not be insulted if a lace chart tutorial was written like they were talking to a three year old – I just might finally crack it then!!

  35. Thanks for the opportunity to win these gorgeous yarns.
    Anything having to do with knitting piques my interest. Currently I’m on a stranded colorwork binge, so I can’t get enough info about others tips and techniques for simplifying the technique and saving time. My five-year plan includes learning to spin and dye my own yarn. Not enough hours in the day to take it all in!

  36. What a great giveaway! In addition to fabulous patterns (of course), I like to read about knitting techniques that may be new to me (always up for another way to cast on!) and book reviews … A few other things I like are the unbelievably soft Chadwick yarn from Juniper Moon (a dream for design work), the “Assortment B” designs from Foofaraw, and the purple Nogi minimal pooling sock yarn from All for Love of Yarn. (I was sad to see the web site notice that Pico Accuardi Dyeworks is closing its doors, by the way.) I’m gkgreen on Ravelry and … Thanks again for a cool contest!

  37. I love to learn new tricks, new stitches and just marvel at the array of yarns available to drool over. Those prizes look deliciously yummy!

  38. This is amazing,love it.I love to read about techniques tutorials, funny personal stories,book and yarn reviews,patterns and projects too.

  39. I like learning a new technique with each project. I just knit Lucy Neatby’s Snowflake Bonnet and learned double knitting. Its such a well written pattern!

  40. I would love to learn how to be clever enough to make my own patterns or be brave enough to modify existing ones. I love that on Ravelry you can find very clever people who have modified patterns or shared hints and tips for short cuts to make life easier.
    Rav ID- loisamelia
    Twitter – loisbrad

  41. I like to read about techniques and what I most need to know now is how to change up a pattern without getting myself in over my head (again)different yarn or needle size, making sizing changes etc. I love to be inpired especially by indies but not overwhelmed with technical information (can you tell I am a beginner?)

  42. I would love good, reliable, clear tutorials! They are always so helpful when I come across a technique in a pattern that I’m not familiar with.
    Yarn reviews are always great too!

  43. I love learning new techniques, but mostly love to learn more about the designers behind the patterns I love and the beautiful photographs on your pages… I love “meeting” the real person behind such creative talent. I did pop over to the Juniper Farm site – I am in love! I wish I could visit the farm and help out! I appreciate that they keep their sheep on their farm for their entire lifespan – what good people! I’ll have to buy some of their yarn if I don’t win some here. (: Thanks for the chance! Stephanie

  44. I like to see different versions of the same pattern – as in: what did your subscribers knit, how did they alter the patterns to fit them, colors, yarn choices etc. Also, at JMF, I LOVE their new Findley dappled yarn. Can’t wait to see the color choices.

  45. I love seeing the new trends and colors coming up to give me a head start! Love tricks and tips to make my knitting easier and better looking. Would love to learn about what fibers work best for sweaters, hats, throws etc…

  46. I have been knitting since I was 8 and now as a young mother of two little ones my knitting has grown exponentially both in passion and quantity. I take such pride in choosing beautiful quality yarns for special projects, adorning my family mostly in handmades. I respect companies and knitters with the same passion!

  47. I loe to see what is new in the way of knit goodies, indie dyers.. I also love to hear how designers are inspired and their process when designing. I would love to make a better button hole and learn a better way of attaching buttons. The yarn tends to stretch after awhile and slackens.

  48. i love the YARN Opulence Minimal Pooling Hand Dyed 80 Superwash Merino, 10 Cashmere, 10 Nylon 200 yards DK/Light Worsted in turquoise, blue, and gray on the All for the Love of Yarn site
    kolpin4680 at gmail dot com

  49. I’m a huge fan of perpetually browsing patterns on Ravelry. So I guess I’d like to learn more about pattern inspiration, where it comes from. I’m always challenging myself so good tutorials for new techniques are awesome. Judy’s magic cast on for toe up socks + 2 at a time on one circular needle have literally changed my life! Prior to that nugget of brilliance I had been stuck at 1.25 socks for a year! Now I’ve made 2 pairs of toddler socks and am 1/3 of the way through a pair of adult socks. (the 1.25 socks are still hanging out. I shall finish them at some point.)

  50. I’m a new knitter, so I love learning basic techniques – but also reading about the advanced ones since I apparently have no fear when it comes to trying something new (in knit).

  51. I love tutorials and reviews. I like interviews, but I like them more when they’re focused on a specific thing (e.g. a new book) rather than a more general “meet this designer.”

  52. I love hearing about indy dyers and small wool producers. Esoecially how they got their start and how they run their day to day operations.
    Scotiaknit on Ravelry

  53. When I’m reading about knitting I like to hear about people’s philosophy of knitting – how they go about it, what motivates or demotivates them, what it means to them.
    I also like to learn tricks and methods.
    I think my favourite knitting writer is Stephanie Pearl-McPhee.

  54. I would learn more about different colorwork techniques. Colorwork is on my list of things to try this year and any information would be inspiring.thanks for the giveaway. You can find me on ravelry as mamaholmes.

  55. Just bought Findley in Byzantine and think it is the most beautiful clear blue I have ever seen-would love to have another skein. I make and sell scarves as Skeins to Scarves and would love to make some lacey and/or beaded scarves. Like technique videos-must learn many more cast-ons for these fancy scarves.

  56. I like reading about techniques – particularly ways to correct mistakes without ripping back every time🙂 I also like to get inspiration by seeing other projects, yarns, etc…
    The prizes are gorgeous!
    Walknknit on Twitter & Ravelry

  57. I love reading about knitting design and about designer’s inspiration. I also love love love photography and will buy a book or magazine just to stare at the pictures!🙂

Leave a Reply

