Happy Holiday and Giveaway #3

Our family has much to be thankful for this year, and we had a wonderful day; all of the adults made a different part of the feast, so nobody got overwhelmed. One of my favorite parts of the holiday is carefully unwrapping and setting the table with my grandmother's 1946 wedding Wedgwood, which we only bring out for this special occasion. Hope that everyone traveled safely and had a good holiday…

Now, for the winners of Giveaway #2:

Megan from Stockinette Zombies: Rocky Mountain Dyeworks Bow Fall fingering

Sadiekate on ravelry: BrooklynTweed Shelter

Sweetside on Ravelry: Necessary Pins marker set

In the spirit of happy start to the holiday season, it's time for the Sweet 16 giveaway #3!

IMG_8137
Winner the First will get to knit with a skein of Green Mountain Spinnery Simply Fine fingering.

IMG_8138
Every winner receives a Spud and Chloe On the Run pattern set with heart-shaped tape measure

IMG_8141
The second winner gets to try the wonderful Kollage Riveting recycled denim yarn….

IMG_8142
All winners get a bag with two Rocky Mountain Dyeworks mini-skeins or a skein and spinning fiber.

IMG_8140
For Prize #3, a lucky lace knitter will get to cast on with a skein of SweetGeorgia Cashsilk Lace luxury laceweight in the Botanical colorway!

To enter, please leave a blog comment saying any of the following: which other thing(s) you like from the Kollage, Sweetgeorgia, Spud and Chloe, Rocky Mountain Dyeworks, or Green Mountain Spinnery sites, your favorite Winter project, or what holiday-season knitting is on your needles right now. Make sure to leave your email or ravelry/twitter handle so that we can contact you if you win!

The contest will run through Monday morning, November 28th, and then we'll post the next giveaway in the series.

 

93 thoughts on “Happy Holiday and Giveaway #3

  1. I love Sweet Georgia’s Northwind hat, lovely! I just finished a Flintshire hat for my dad. I will definitely cast on another!
    BellyLaugher on Rav

  2. Current holiday knitting: a hat for a sweet baby in my life, a Kobo cover for my mother, and a cushion cover with kitty paw prints (intarsia) for my dad.
    knittingwithwords on Ravelry

  3. I’ve been knitting hats and cowls like crazy. It should be time soon for a pair of socks. The colorway from Green Mountain is beautiful!

  4. I love the Riptide colourway from SweetGeorgia, in any fibre. I’ll have to pick some up because every time I see it I just stop and drool… πŸ˜‰

  5. My holiday knitting… A silk scarf for my MIL. I have hopes of something for my hubby, but realize that that is probably delusional atthis point. Next year I need to stsrt the holiday knitting mid-summer!

  6. My holiday knitting… A silk scarf for my MIL. I have hopes of something for my hubby, but realize that that is probably delusional atthis point. Next year I need to stsrt the holiday knitting mid-summer!

  7. My current holiday knitting includes a few of the patterns from the Coastal Knits booklet – the Rocky Coast Cardigan and the Rustling Leaves are lovely.

  8. I love Ribbit from Spud and Chloe, he’s a free frog toy pattern and my daughter thinks he’s hilarious especially when I make him dance like Kermit the frog.

  9. I didn’t know Kollage had a recycled denim yarn – very cool. Can’t wait to give that a try! Thank you for the generous giveaways.

  10. I have a sweater that is lacking a sleeve and a quarter… and it has been lacking it since October. My husband has hinted, oh so delicately, that he’d like his sweater before it’s too hot to wear it… lol. He shouldn’t feel bad, I’ve got one on the needles for me that’s been there over a year now… don’t hear me whining about it not having sleeves yet, do you… rofl.
    I love that recycled denim, especially in their Lava colorway. Gorgeous stuff!

  11. I like the square needles from Kollage, but unfortunately have not tried any of the yarns listed but would love to! I’m currently knitting socks for holiday giving.

  12. I like the square needles from Kollage, but unfortunately have not tried any of the yarns listed but would love to! I’m currently knitting socks for holiday giving.

  13. I just finished a scarf for my grandmother (out of the first yarn off my shiny new spinning wheel), and I’m working on a scarf for my boyfriend. I’m also teaching a friend to knit, which is /like/ holiday knitting except that someone else is doing it πŸ™‚

  14. I just finished a scarf for my grandmother (out of the first yarn off my shiny new spinning wheel), and I’m working on a scarf for my boyfriend. I’m also teaching a friend to knit, which is /like/ holiday knitting except that someone else is doing it πŸ™‚

  15. I love the look of the Greenmountain Spinnery’s Simply Fine in Sugarplum. My favourite project for this summer isn’t on the needles yet, but I’ll be making a BSJ in my handspun for friends who’ve been trying for some time and are finally expecting a wee bundle of joy in the new year.

  16. I love the look of the Greenmountain Spinnery’s Simply Fine in Sugarplum. My favourite project for this summer isn’t on the needles yet, but I’ll be making a BSJ in my handspun for friends who’ve been trying for some time and are finally expecting a wee bundle of joy in the new year.

  17. Oh my that is a hard decision. I think I would like to do the Bronze Maple Stole in Sweetgeorgia BFL. As far as what is on my needles, I’ve got Mughal Shawl by Kieran Foley in Lost City Knits going for my Mom. (oddlief on Rav)

  18. Oh my that is a hard decision. I think I would like to do the Bronze Maple Stole in Sweetgeorgia BFL. As far as what is on my needles, I’ve got Mughal Shawl by Kieran Foley in Lost City Knits going for my Mom. (oddlief on Rav)

  19. I don’t think there’s anything on Sweet Georgia’s website I don’t like. Well, maybe the fiber since I don’t know how to spin. The yarn colors are so vibrant. I’ve never been in a yarn club, so that would be something I’d really like to participate in some day. Thanks for the giveaway.

  20. I think I want to get my hands on more of the Kollage square DPNs…Bob knows I have enough yarn but yarn is always lovely and I know I fell in love with the Spud & Chloe sock yarn πŸ™‚
    ~ renny1780 (ravelry)

  21. I think I want to get my hands on more of the Kollage square DPNs…Bob knows I have enough yarn but yarn is always lovely and I know I fell in love with the Spud & Chloe sock yarn πŸ™‚
    ~ renny1780 (ravelry)

  22. I have lots of holiday knitting going on. Fairies for my lil nieces, beardos for all my nephews, hats and scarves for my tween nieces and I really want to knock a pair of socks out for my Mom. The clock is ticking!!!!

  23. Hi! I’m knitting a pair of beaded socks for myself to wear during the holidays. The pattern is called Motley and the yarn is Hazel Knits Artisan sock in Coleus — a club color that is a bogeys maroon. The beads match very nicely! I’m also looking for a cowl our scarf pattern fir my mother-in-law. She’s a Miami Dolphin’s fan and I found the perfect yarn(HK in the coloway Nemo). If anyone has a suggestion for a cowl or scarf that would look great in a variegated yarn, you can find me on Ravelry — I’m Scienceknitster

  24. My gift knitting for this year will be a pair of around the house socks for my husband. First socks for him but he really loves the felted slippers I made several years ago but now wants some heavier socks to wear about the house, so the yarn has been bought and I will start those soon.
    Seriously eyeing one of the shawls in the winter issue “Ripin” but have not had time to pursue as I finished the KAL for Shapely and then got caught up with other things.

  25. Anything from Rocky Mountain Dyeworks would be wonderful. Currently knitting a sweater from handspun fiber, a scarf in wonderful green for Christmas, mittens for DIL, scarf from Beyond Toes. I love knitting my own handspun. Ravelry nafoster

  26. From Rocky Mountain Dyeworks I love the Bow Falls Fingering Mallard Blue. Such a pretty vibraqnt color. Thanks, Debbie H
    gussek on Ravelry

  27. I like the Rosebud Hat from the Winter issue. Seems I have 3 hats on the needles at once at the moment for holiday knitting! Rav amchart

  28. AT the risk of repeating myself, I’m going to repeat myself: I’m still yarn-crushing on the Ponderosa Pine Bark colorway from Rocky Mountain Dyeworks.

  29. Haven’t tried any of these yarns, but would like to. Most of my xmas knitting is done, so right now I am working on a cowl for me. πŸ™‚ Thanks for the chance to win. πŸ™‚
    RAVELRY: lyeng11

  30. I have a big thick luxurious afghan that I love knitting in the winter. It keeps me warm while I knit.
    schwip23 on Ravelry

  31. My favorite winter project is a cozy fluffy shawl I am working on with hand spun right now. I can’t wait to get it off the needles. It is a surprise so I haven’t posted it anywhere yet…

  32. I love the French Roast Cardigan! As far as Holiday knitting, I’m working on 2 Irish Hiking Scarves (teacher presents), a pair of socks (daughter present), and a baby blanket (baby due 12/12). Plus in my head I want to make some fingerless gloves (only 2 pair), and a pair of socks for my husband. There’s no way I’ll get all that done, but I’m going to try πŸ™‚
    WalkNKnit on Ravelry & Twitter…

  33. The giveaway fiber are just beautiful. The warm brown from Rocky Mountain dye works is so me.I currently have on needles a scarf for a gift, an afghan for our home, another scarf for me,and a shawl using Trekking finger weight yarn

  34. My current holiday knitting isn’t very seasonal but it’s a lovely pair of cheerful bright pink mockery socks for myself! I figure that winter needs cheerful socks so why not treat myself this christmas!

  35. I’m so intrigued by the denim yarn. I would love to work something up in that! On my needles, a little of the one for them and two for me. Hats for them, socks for me. πŸ™‚

  36. I’m a big fan of Green Mountain Spinnery and always visit their booth at MDSW. But I haven’t seen in person their Alpaca Elegance yarn, which is very attractive at this time of year. That’s what I’m interested in! As for the Winter issue, I’m drawn to the Icy Rivulet Shawl (would be cozy in Alpaca Elegance, yes?) and the Syrinx Infinity Cowl. Great issue!

  37. I am working on scarves for my Christmas gift list:
    Diagonal Silk Scarf
    Pimpelleise
    Any of those yarns would be a great addition to my stash!

  38. What don’t I love from these suppliers? But today I am specifically loving the Sweetgeorgia Tough Love Sock in Riptide and Espresso, the Spud and Chloe Fine in Hippo, and (still) the Komeeta pattern (possibly more so now that I am re-reading the book).

  39. What don’t I love from these suppliers? But today I am specifically loving the Sweetgeorgia Tough Love Sock in Riptide and Espresso, the Spud and Chloe Fine in Hippo, and (still) the Komeeta pattern (possibly more so now that I am re-reading the book).

  40. My needles have been smoking this fall. I have made hats, arm warmers, socks. I’ve done two test knits for a designer friend. I’m currently working on a toque, a pair of socks and a cardigan. Thanks for the chance to win one of these great gifts!

  41. Great prizes! My faves from the Winter issue are Ripen and Sandrilene (part of it may be that I am loving that bright cheerful gold color that both are knit in!)

  42. Great prizes! My faves from the Winter issue are Ripen and Sandrilene (part of it may be that I am loving that bright cheerful gold color that both are knit in!)

  43. Oooh I love SweetGeorgia yarns! From the winter issue I like the French Roast Cardi especially- it looks really cozy. The wild cherry cardi is cute too. Right now I’ve got a new hat design on the needles.

  44. I am glad to be introduced to new companies! I love the yarns from Rocky Mountain Dyeworks! I live in Northwest Montana – also a part of the Rockies – the names of the colors/inspiration of the colors speak to me – I love them all and am reminded of many hikes in Glacier National Park and in the Canadian Rockies as well! I love the colors!!!! I also love the CashSilkFern lace scarf pattern from SweetGeorgia – would definitely knit it if I were to win their yarn. Everything from all of these companies is lovely!!! I love to knit hats for the holidays, or a nice, special scarf for someone! Thanks for the chance to win! Stephanie (indigodogmt on Ravelry)

  45. I’m currently working on a super-soft striped baby blanket, but it is taking me forever! For my next project I need something fast!

  46. SweetGeorgia. OMG. The Cashsilk lace….it’s to DIE (DYE?) for. Such beautiful colors…..unthinkable if you’ve ever been in Vancouver for their very damp and gray winters….

  47. I love the Fisherman’s Loop Cowl from Sweet Georgia and if I get started soon I will have it ready for a gift in a few weeks.
    yarnbasket on Rav

  48. I love the Alpaca Elegance (Ceylon colorway) over at Green Mountain Spinnery. As for Christmas/winter knitting, I currently have an ornament for my tree on my needles.

Leave a Reply

