Knitcircus Winter 2011-12 Live!

Issue16_winter2011_cover_FLAT
Here it is: 23 new knitting and crochet patterns to warm up your Winter!

Plus the Tubular Cast on with Wendy Johnson, Reasons to Buy Yarn from the Yarn Stylist, and Choosing and Using Handspun yarn, with Nicole Feller-Johnson.

Sweet 16 Giveaways

That's right, we're celebrating Issue #16 with all kids of presents–for you! Watch for two solid weeks of giveaways from the wonderful yarn and knitting supply companies who partner with Knitcircus.

For the first round, we've got a big one for you: one winner will receive all of these prizes:

IMG_8120
Signature Needle Arts Stiletto-tipped circular needle, US #5, needle length 6 inches, total length 32," and a needle inventory card from Green Mountain Spinnery

Yarn hollow

A skein of Yarn Hollow Trellis in Lavender (a whopping 620 yards), a sample mini-skein and fiber from Rocky Mountain Dyeworks

IMG_8116
Sincere Sheep skein of Equity Sport in "Berry Fingers" from the Terroir Fiber Series, a skein of IndigoDragonfly Merino Silk Sock in the colorway "Don't You Have an Elsewhere to Be? (Cordelia)" and a set of Comfy waxed-cotton stitch markers from Knitca.

  Knitted lace

 A copy of Knitted Lace, from Interweave Press, and a favor bag from Spud and Chloe, with two On the Run patterns and an adorable heart-shaped tape measure.

Two runners-up will each win a PDF of the Winter 2011-12 Complete Collection, the magazine and Pattern Collection together.

To enter, please leave a blog comment letting us know what tickles your fancy from the Winter Issue; retweeting contest announcments and/or using the hashtag #knitcircuswinter counts, too! Make sure to include your email, Twitter or Ravelry handle so we can contact you if you win.

Winners will be picked Sunday evening November 20th and announced with the next round of giveaways on Monday, November 21st.

 

 

 

 

386 thoughts on “Knitcircus Winter 2011-12 Live!

  1. What a great assortment of patterns – Syrinx hat, rosebud, walking into the new year socks and the detailed instructions and pattern about the tubular cast one.
    Love the magazine.

  2. With so many lovely patterns and interesting articles and tutorials, it was hard to choose a single favourite! So, as these are in line with my current goals, I particularly love Anna Dalvi’s gloves, Katherine Vaughan’s socks (for my husband), ‘Ripen’ by Meghan Jackson and the article on handspinning. All in all, wonderfully done!
    Ravelry ID: pipnmilly

  3. Okay, KnitCircus subscription just went to the top of my Christmas wish list! The Speleology socks are fabulous and I need to getting knitting on some Rosebud hats for the kids and the Wild Cherry Cardi would be a perfectly fun way to try my hand at double knitting. Rav amchart

  4. What a great issue… The Verona cardi and Rosebud hat caught my eye, and as a new spinner I really enjoyed “Choose it and use it”. Thanks!

  5. Another terrific issue full of interesting patterns. I really like the Verona Cardi. But I also like the sock patterns too. That’s probably what I’d make first. I tend to make a lot of socks. I enjoy the articles most of all. Thanks for the opportunity to win such a great prize. It’s probably the only way I’d ever get to knit with Signature Needles. Good luck to all!

  6. Wow – What a fabulous issue. And the prizes in this giveaway are fantastic. Looks like I’ll have plenty of knitting projects for the winter…

  7. I’ve three favorites: Meghan Jackson’s Ripen, Rachel Dickman’s French Roast, and Anna Delvi’s Riffle. I don’t know what I’m gonna knit first! πŸ™‚

  8. It’s hard to choose from all the great patterns, but I think the one that I like the most is the Icy Rivulet Shawl. Can’t wait to make it!

  9. I’m posting the 100 (Excuses) Reasons to Buy Yarn essay right by my desk and keeping it handy just in case anyone in authority at my house should dare to ask any questions regarding STASH abatement! LOL I’ve got the biggest grin on right now:)

  10. This is a great issue! I am in love with the French Roast sweater – it looks like a sweater I wanted to buy, but they were charging about $128 for it! NO way. I’m also loving the Ripen shawl. 1 skein shawls are my favorite. πŸ™‚
    Plus, a recipe for lebkuchen!!

  11. As usual, Wendy Johnson did a terrific job on the tutorial for tubular cast on and the hat construction. What a perfect time, charity knitting and of course, Christmas projects.

  12. This is an amazing issue! It’s hard to pick my favorites because I really love them all. I really do like Rosebud and will probably do that one first. πŸ™‚ Keeping my fingers crossed that I win! πŸ™‚

  13. WOW! What a great issue! There are so many patterns that I love! I guess my top three would be the Confection Hat, Sandrilene sweater, and the cute Rosebud hat.

  14. OMG I am totally mixing up my emag issues. The Wendy Johnson article and please, nevermind about Franklin Habit. My age is showing.

  15. Before I even saw the blog post about the contest, I was trying to figure out how to send y’all a comment about this issue. So many great things I want to make for myself!
    I recently moved from Florida to Maryland, and I actually need some warm things. Added to my to do list (and pushed to the top) are Riffle, Sandrilene, Sprite Collar, Syrinx Hat and Infinity Cowl, and the Verona Lace Cardi.
    It would be absolutely fantastic to be able to start one of these projects with the Signature Needles, something else I’ve always wanted to try.
    But first, I’ve got to finish my Christmas knitting – a total of 28 scarves and 2 kid cardigans.

  16. What a fabulous Sweet 16 prize!
    My two favorite patterns from Winter are the Rosebud Hat and Sandrilene.
    I always enjoy the variety of articles in your mag — very helpful!

  17. What a fabulous Sweet 16 prize!
    My two favorite patterns from Winter are the Rosebud Hat and Sandrilene.
    I always enjoy the variety of articles in your mag — very helpful!

  18. Love this issue and all the projects are great! I’m going to knit the Komeeta mitts, the Riffle gloves and Ripen shawl for sure!!!

  19. I loved the Choose It and Use It: Handspun article! I’ve been thinking about trying to spin my own yarn for a while now, but with so many options for fiber and all the different ways it has been dyed I just didn’t know where to start. This actually helped a lot… though maybe not for my budget as I’m thinking I just might try it today!
    My Ravelry handle is kristelknab

  20. I really like the article on selecting and using hand spun yarns! I also can’t wait to knit the Priscilla Vintage Capelet!

  21. What a great issue! I love the walking into the new year socks. I like that the pattern detail stops at the shoe line. The fact that it’s stitched in WW yarn is a bonus.
    Now….do I start my subscription with gifts or Winter?

  22. I love the cool and interesting names people give their patterns. There are some excellent ones in this issue, and I get to improve my vocabulary AND knit crazy good stuff at the same time!

  23. I love the cover sweater – and also the lavender Trellis from Yarnhollow. And I have always meant to try the tubular cast on but found it was too hard the last time I tried it.

  24. I’ve been wanting to attempt double knitting, and I love that Duplicity is a smaller project to practice on.
    I also love the 100 excuses for buying yarn (even though I’ve already used most of them LOL….I still got a few new ones) πŸ˜‰
    ~bonnie (aka AmpuTeeHee on Rav)

  25. Can’t choose just one! Love the Sandrilene cardigan–especially in that beautiful yellow. Also the cute Rosebud hat–might cast that on first–and the gorgeous Ripen.

  26. Love the patterns, but was especially intrigued by Sprinx Infinity Scarf and Icy Rivulet Scarf. Awesome giveaway!! Keeping my fingers crossed.

  27. I love the Lebkuchen recipe, I think I’ll try it. I learned tubular cast on long ago and it’s great for mittens.

  28. I love the Lebkuchen recipe, I think I’ll try it. I learned tubular cast on long ago and it’s great for mittens.

  29. I love Wendy’s tutorial – I’m always looking to try methods, and the “technicality” of the tutorial appeals to the knit-geek in me!

  30. I am in a cowl/hat knitting frenzy and I feel the impulse to immediately start “sprite, confection, and the infinity cowl”. I even have some malabrigo to start Sprite tonight! I will save reading the articles for when the fingers need a break. Great inspiration!

  31. Some of my favorites: Confection Hat, French Toast Cardi., Rosebud, Roxanne, Sandrilene & Syrinx & Infinity Cowl. I don’t know where to start!

  32. Wendy’s tutorial on tubular cast-on is great…I’ll use that watch cap pattern for my next Hats for Sailors contribution. Love the Sandrilene sweater.

  33. What I see in this issue is lots of new techniques to learn and improve my knitting skills. The photography is great and definitely adds to the temptation to raise skills to a new level. And I have to have a slice for me!

  34. There are so many great things in this issue, Again. I am so glad I found your magazine. Better late than never, right? I love the articles and the 100 excuses/reasons to buy handspun. With just my first glance through, I loved the Wild Cherry Cardi, Ripen, Riffle, French Roast and so many more.

  35. Stopped dead when I came to pp. 82-83 and the photos of Ripen. It’s beautiful! Also like Wendy Johnson’s tutorial – she ‘splains things so well!

  36. I really like the Komeeta mitta and the Wild Cherry Cardi is awesome! I have not done any double knitted projects before, and I’m always on the prowl for new techniques. Would love to win this package πŸ™‚
    Julie
    joolee on ravelry

  37. Hi
    Thanks for all the great patterns and articles, so very nice.
    It makes me so happy and inspired by Confections Hat and the history of the pattern.
    Valle di Susa Cabled Wrap is quite amazing as well.
    =)
    Thanks again
    Eva

  38. I really love the French Roast Jacket as it looks lovely and warm for the winter and I just love Autumn shades. I really love the concept of this magazine and can’t wait to read it once I have received the email to say it is ready to read.

  39. I really love the French Roast Jacket as it looks lovely and warm for the winter and I just love Autumn shades. I really love the concept of this magazine and can’t wait to read it once I have received the email to say it is ready to read.

  40. I love the entire issue of Winter knitcircus!!! The “Stand Outs” for me are: Confection Hat=adorable, I can’t wait to knit this one up for myself! The French Roast Sweater is beautiful and looks like a “must do” also! Sprite is the cutest little cowl; I can see this in several different colors to match my fall and wninter coats!! HOWEVER, my most “favoritest” is the Priscilla Vintage Capelet!!! That is calling my name and will be my first CO after Christmas knitting is finished!!!
    Love Knitcircus; it is so informative and always full of patterns that fit my style or patterns I would make and gift!!!
    Thanks for all the great work you all do!!!
    Blessings,
    Laura

  41. LOVED the Yarn Stylist essay on 100 reasons to buy yarn – i am sure I’ve used every single one of those at one time or another!
    It was also fun to read about the heel cream from Soak, so thanks for reviewing it.
    In the patterns, loved Bronze Maple Stole, Duplicity neck wrap, and the Sandrilene cardigan. Gorgeous!

  42. My 2-year old niece is going to look adorable in the Rosebud hat. What great patterns in this issue – I love Sprite and Ripen!!

  43. I am excitied to see the Hat and Cowl combo “Syrinx Hat & Infinity Cowl” can’t wait to show it to my knitting group on Monday!

  44. I am really interested in the shawl patterns. I am going to try a beading knitting class after the first of the year; the little scarf pattern could be a good first project!

  45. Lovely selection of prizes, including “must-get-this” items for knitters — the Signature circulars, Knitted Lace book from Interweave, and “yummy” yarns!

  46. Lovely selection of prizes, including “must-get-this” items for knitters — the Signature circulars, Knitted Lace book from Interweave, and “yummy” yarns!

  47. I am beyond in love with the Cover Sweater : French Roast! I’m ever so happy I subscribed to the pattern collections as this entire collection is gorgeous and just skimming through I can count up at least 10 I want to make right now! So hard to pick a fav so I went with my first reaction when seeing the cover!

  48. Well, to pick just 3:
    Rosebud hat…for my little great-nieces & nephew
    Speleology socks…..how do you pronounce that word, anyway?
    Sun Slice Scarf…..yummy quick project

  49. I love the Icy Rivulet shawl. Such a wonderful blend of modern style and classic lace. BUT, my plan is to print the list of reasons to buy yarn and use every one of them.

  50. Tough choice, but glad to make one for such a wonderful prize! Riffle gloves and Ripen shawl are the two that beg most to be cast ton. I think the gloves win though.

  51. Wow, what a great issue!
    May I pick TWO things that “tickle my fancy”?
    While the designs are certainly interesting, attractive, and practical, what really gets my attention are the two that focus on technique. I have struggled with the tubular cast on, and I’m itching to try this method. And double knitting is also something that I want to work on.
    Janet

  52. This is my mostest favoritest Knitcircus yet. LOVE the 100 Excuses to Buy Yarn. And the Tubular knitting recipe. Plus I am going to start shopping for yarn for at least half a dozen of the projects in this issue. Tell your advertisers that their advertising expense is not in vain. I always, always check out each advertisers website for fun & inspiration. And I’ll definitely be shopping on them for the necessary yarn for this month’s projects! Ravelry ID: Racedogmom

  53. The cover cardigan is my favourite. And I have been meaning to try the tubular cast on for some time. Time to get to it.
    Rav:aknitontheside

  54. Me thinks I like the Bronze Maple Stole, French Roast, Rosebud, and Speleology.
    Now, will I ever get around to making them? Someday…maybe…my ravelry queue keeps growing and growing and I never seem to make any real progress. *sigh*
    ~ renny1780 on ravelry πŸ™‚

  55. I love Ripen by Megan Jackson and Riffle, by Ana Dalvi! I love shawls and ripen is so gorgeous! I also think that the Riffle gloves are sleek and sexy, yet warm looking too!

  56. The cover sweater is wonderful … and exactly what I was thinking I wanted to knit/own. It is amazing that I spent my time at the gym thinking about the sweater that is nearly identical to the cover design. Thank you knitcircus !

  57. I love the Confection hat, Sandrilene cardi, Ripen shawl and the Sprite cowl, seriously good stuff for knitting this winter. Ravelry name lmgknits

  58. Ah, a pattern for men – the Exothermic vest looks comfortable and well designed. I’m glad that at least one men’s pattern made it into your ezine. There are a lot of us men who love to knit and would love to see more patterns for men that fit well and make us look good. And don’t forget that not all of us are slim, fit boy-men. Some of us are big around the middle, or the chest. I’m looking forward to seeing more in your mag, and of course I’m especially looking forward to winning the prize. Yes, I knit lace too, lol.

  59. Ah, a pattern for men – the Exothermic vest looks comfortable and well designed. I’m glad that at least one men’s pattern made it into your ezine. There are a lot of us men who love to knit and would love to see more patterns for men that fit well and make us look good. And don’t forget that not all of us are slim, fit boy-men. Some of us are big around the middle, or the chest. I’m looking forward to seeing more in your mag, and of course I’m especially looking forward to winning the prize. Yes, I knit lace too, lol.

  60. I can’t stop staring at the Wild Cherry Cardi – so cute and reversible! Don’t know if I’ll try double knitting but it’s hard to resist such cute sweater!

  61. I can’t stop staring at the Wild Cherry Cardi – so cute and reversible! Don’t know if I’ll try double knitting but it’s hard to resist such cute sweater!

  62. Sandrilene or French Roast would be a great addition. Maybe Exothermic if I’m feeling generous…great issue! It’s hard to choose!
    rav ID amdeutsch. thanks!

  63. Sandrilene or French Roast would be a great addition. Maybe Exothermic if I’m feeling generous…great issue! It’s hard to choose!
    rav ID amdeutsch. thanks!

  64. Wow! Amazing giveaway! Knitcircus always has lovely things in their issues so it’ll be easy to let you know what tickled my fancy, and KC Winter 2011 is no exception. My favorites from this issue were the Wild Cherry Cardi, Icy Rivulet Shawl, French Roast (cover), Sandrilene Cardigan, and lastly but not leastly, I loved the Verona Cardigan. Lots of stand-out patterns and a handful of great new cardigan patterns to add to my faves.
    ((adriprints @ Ravelry))

  65. Wow, what a fantastic set of prizes!
    I really like the looks of the icy rivulet shawl – and anything that keeps icy rivulets from running down my neck this time of year is double beautiful!

  66. I loved the syrinx hat and cowl but I must say that what pleases me a lot with Knit Circus is that the ads are pretty and interesting too. So many magazines have ads that you just don’t want to see and you flip and flip trying to avoid them. But…not THIS magazine…the ads fit the esthetics of the articles and patterns and actually add to the experience!

  67. This issue is SUPER!!! There is such a great mix of styles of knitting and a variety of yarns in the designs. So there really is something for everyone. I found several things I really want to knit. Than you!

  68. I love Ripen by Meghan Jackson and the article about handspun and how to use and showcase it in a knitted item.
    I am Charlottesmom on Ravelry.

  69. I love this issue! I think my favorite was the cover sweater–it reminds me of one that I really liked years ago in Interweave, but more wearable. But I also loved the Komeeta mittens and the Ripen shawl. The whole issue is very inspiring!

  70. Ripen, the cowls, sandrilene cardigan, confection hat … What is there not to like? Fabulous mag: I did not know it existed … A wonderful Xmas present for me … Have added it to my wish list and if I have been extra good, well you just never know!

  71. Overall beautiful issue, great work! Like the Wendy D. Johnson article and seriously thinking about the shawl patterns.
    Rav name katbrown

  72. I think the confection hat and the ripen shawl are outstanding patterns! What a great talent collection of designers! Thanks for putting together such a great mag!

  73. Ohhhh, Looooove KnitCircus…an early Christmas gift!!
    I love anything Wendy Johnson, I get her email and go back to it over and over.
    I like the Ripen shawl..I’m doing lace now.
    I’m also a socknitter, so I really like the “Walking into the New Year Socks” on pages 72-73!
    So many great patterns, so many great yarns!!
    Gabbiex1 on Ravelry…Merry Christmas

  74. Oh, I have to try the tubular cast-on as written by Wendy Johnson. I made a watch cap awhile ago, but may make another one. As for the patterns, French Roast caught my eyes. I’m trying to decide on a cardigan to make for myself. I just finished one for one of my sisters, now it’s time to make one for myself.

  75. It’s a toss up between the
    β€œTop 100 Reasons to Buy Yarn” and
    β€œTotally Tubular”
    (I love Wendy Johnson’s work
    & daily e-mails,
    plus her cat that behaves!)

  76. The shape and stiches of Ripen are visually appealing and practical while having a just a splash of girly detail. I love that you guys have videos embedded within your online mag! Will have to attempt the cast on after the holidays .
    – sheepishlywinkn on Rav

  77. Well, I actually like the articles and essay about yarn buying the most this time. I like the mitten pattern the most, with Sandrilene a close runner up.
    Great e magazine. thank you.

  78. I just love the Syrinx Hat & Infinity Cowl, as well as the Rosebud Hat! Lovely designs. The article Top 100 Reasons was great, too!

  79. Fabulous issue the articles are fantastic, the patterns are a must.
    But the 100 reasons to buy yarn hits the spot.
    I constantly stand in front of fiber sweetness and debate the reasons why I need a specific yarn. The 100 reasons you shared just made my list much longer on why I should keep adding to my stash.
    Rock On!!!
    Ravelry ID: plumpy

  80. So many great patterns in this issue! I think my fave might be the Xyrinx Hat & Infinity Cowl but I also like Confection Hat and Icy Rivulet Shawl (which may very well be a Christmas gift for my sister!). I also enjoyed the article on 100 Reasons to Buy Yarn.

  81. I think this is my favourite issue. Loving the Confection Hat and Icy Rivulet shawl patterns. But what really tickled my fancy was the 100 reasons!!!!

  82. Well – I needed some new excuses to add to my bag of tricks – so I loved the “100 Reasons to Buy Yarn” article. As far as patterns go… is it cheating to say I love everything in the Cables section?
    Great issue – I’ll be back to buy the patterns on payday!

  83. I love the infinity cowls and the Ripen shawl. Also, the tubular cast-on tutorial. Thanks so much for a chance to enter this great give-away.

  84. My favourite thing was the list of 100 excuses for buying yarn! I think I have used quite a few of those. I’m Mairin on Ravelry.

  85. Phew, tough, tough choice! I’m drawn to hats right now – Confection and Rosebud. Thank you for the extremely generous giveaway!

  86. Kristine Vilimaite’s Icy Rivulet Shawl is a cool as her description. Memories surfaced of icicles hanging outside of our bedroom windows on cold mornings before the heat of our coal stoves began to melt them, but only a little bit. πŸ™‚
    At 72 years, I have yarn stashed to last me 300 years! Icy Rivulet has just joined my list of to-do knitting projects. I’ll wear it heaven!

  87. until I learn how to do Tunisian crochet (and I plan to) I think Rosebud and Riffle are the first two patterns I plan to make. I love that there’s always at least one pattern I want to make for me and one that’s appropriate and interesting for my kids. Every issue well-balanced!

  88. The Ripen shawl, Sprite cowl and Riffle mitts all look very appealing. Can’t pass up the Lebkuchen recipe too, still trying to find the secret to Luzern Lebkuchen. Fibercrafter on Rav

  89. Still enjoying all the issues of Knitcircus. The Winter 2011 is so enjoyable. Love the Confection Hat and the Ripen shawl. Want to try both.
    Cindy

  90. My first favorite is the Sun Slice Scarf because it would make great Christmas gifts,but the Rosebud Hat and the cover sweater are also calling to me . Beautiful issue.

  91. My first favorite is the Sun Slice Scarf because it would make great Christmas gifts,but the Rosebud Hat and the cover sweater are also calling to me . Beautiful issue.

  92. On my first pass through the new issue, what caught my eye was the tubular cast-on tutorial, plus these great-looking patterns: the Syrinx hat & Infinity cowl, the Sandrilene cardigan, and the Ripen shawl. CarolLynn on ravelry.

  93. I’m loving the sandrilene cardi… Totally my style. And the 100 reasons to buy yarn have given me some additional ideas… LOL

  94. beautiful issue! i love the ripen shawl, the brown maple stole, and the verona cardi! thank you for the giveaway…i can’t wait to knit some of these projects!

  95. I love French roast. I didn’t like it when I first saw it on the cover, but the inside photos are yummy. I also like the syrinx cowl and hat.
    SareBearKnits on ravelry

  96. What a great giveaway to go with an excellent issue. Right off the bat, I think the French Roast cardi on the cover is awesome. I also am in love with the Komeeta mittens. I heart Norwegian inspired knits~

  97. ok that was hard but lets see, Rippen, Verona Cardi and Sophie’s Mittens letme stop….Oh yeah and those Lebkuchen Cookies looking good!! @(*_*)@ !!

  98. Wow… love this issue. There are too many things to choose from . But I think my favorites are the french Roast Cardi, and the Syrinx Hat and Infinity Cowl. Can’t wait to start. Thanks for the chance to win. πŸ™‚

  99. I love Wendy Johnson’s Totally Tubular article and pattern! I also love the Komeeta mittens and it’s wonderful they are made from Bugga!
    BellyLaugher on Rav

  100. Wow, what a great prize! What tickles my fancy from the winter issue is the nice selection of cardigans … I’m having trouble deciding whether to cast on first for the cover’s French Roast cardi or the charming (and sleeve-tastic) Sandrilene cardi!
    I’m gkgreen@Q.com and gkgreen on Ravelry.

  101. So many beautiful patterns that I couldn’t decide and had to buy the lot. Again, LOL.
    I love shawls and Sarah Wilson’s Priscilla Vintage Capelet caught my eye. That’ll stay put forever!
    Thanks for another wonderful issue,
    Chris (Robebe on Ravelry)

  102. So many beautiful patterns that I couldn’t decide and had to buy the lot. Again, LOL.
    I love shawls and Sarah Wilson’s Priscilla Vintage Capelet caught my eye. That’ll stay put forever!
    Thanks for another wonderful issue,
    Chris (Robebe on Ravelry)

  103. Man, those prices are awesome! I wish I had a Twitter, just to get more entries πŸ˜› I really love the French Roast sweater, but since I’m such an ADD knitter and can’t put a sweater out to save my life… I’d probably end up knitting the Riffle gloves or Sprite.

  104. It all comes together! Walking Into the New Year Socks, the BEAUTIFUL Signature needles (perfect size for pattern), stitch markers. All with a tubular cast-on! I am ready to go! I also like the Rosebud Hat (What a precious picture in pink in the Collection!)and the Syrinx Cowl. Hard to believe, #16. I still have my #1, handbound! Love the magazine.

  105. Was it my imagination or do I remember seeing someone wearing the Verona cardigan at last month’s Guild meeting?
    I remember loving it then, and still love it today! Hmmmm, I have some gorgeous lime green ecowool?

  106. The watch cap with tubular cast on looks great plus the Ripen shawl is beautiful. Mmmmm…and the cookies look delicious and perfect for fall baking. Wish I had one now to drink with my coffee!

  107. I adore the Infinity cowl! I’m pretty picky about which cowls I will wear and this appeals to me because it is not super tight around the neck and looks very classy.

  108. Where to start?? Really like the Icy Rivulet Shawl, Syrinx and Ripen. But also will try the Tubular cast on and will knit a donation hat from the pattern.

  109. What didn’t I like! Favorites are Syrinx Infinity Cowl, Icy Rivulet Shawl, Sandrilene and Ripen. Also, I’m pretty sure I’ve used all 100 Reasons to Buy Yarn myself at some point!

  110. I like the duplicity neck “thing” pattern. I am crazy about cowls and things like that and want to learn to do double knitting.
    I’m knittingwoman on ravelry and on twitter too:)

  111. I found the Watch Cap article most useful. The clear explanation and photos of the tubular cast-on has inspired me to give it a try. Thanks!

  112. MY FAVORITE item is the french roast sweater (cover sweater) need it! my 2nd favorite is wild cherry cardi how cute
    another great issue!
    ~happycrafter207 (on ravelry)

  113. I really like the Confection Hat. I knit purple hats that are auctioned off to raise money for cancer research. I have just the yarn for this and I know it will bring in a lot. Thanks for such a nice pattern.

  114. Wow! I just loved the tutorial on the tubular cast on. I am halfway done on my first holiday gift hat already. Thank you for adding this to your winter issue. I love all of your patterns and articles. It was great to meet all of you at Rhinebeck Sheep and Wool and get to see the fall patterns in person. Keep up the great work!

  115. Congratulations on 16 fabulous issues! I love all the reviews (yarn, books, etc) and the yarnside chats is a fav, not to mention all the wonderful patterns. I tend to knit without patterns, but you always have a nice variety.
    But the Top 100 REASONS to buy yarn has to be the BEST… I could probably add another 100!
    Thanks for such a great magazine… I should probably just get a subscription to support all the articles!

  116. I did post earlier, as “Sarah White,” but I can’t tell if the blog ate my contact info or what, so here it is again–
    Everything in the magazine is lovely, as usual. As favorites go, though, I love the Riffle gloves– pretty, but not frilly. Sleek, really.
    And I agree with whoever said that this was a fabulous sweet 16 prize. It IS fabulous!!
    The missing info: LunarHime on Rav.

  117. I’m torn between the Confection Hat and the Ripen! They are both lovely and I wish I could cast them both on NOW but I have too many projects to finish. It will be tough deciding which one to do first once my needles are freed up!

  118. I adore the coffee bean cardigan, the icy rivulet shawl, the cherry cardigan is just amazing, I can’t wait to cast on Ripen, and I always love Susanna IC’s designs. A great issue!

  119. Just found your site. Should be doing homework, but found you instead! Wonderful interviews and patterns. Will definitely visit again!!

  120. Sandrilene cardigan, French Roast cardigan, Confection hat….I love so many of the patterns!!! As usual…I love all of the helpful tips & techniques!!! Thanks for a WONDERFUL issue!
    Ravelry ID:jaydawnrn

  121. I love that you have an assortment of every kind of project, hats, scarves, socks, sweater, and shawls and that you let the reader see the entire collection before purchase. I will be knitting the sock patterns for my husband and father for Christmas. I love that one of them is in worsted weight so it will be a quicker knit than the fingering weight. Wow, I have been wanting to try a pair of Signature Arts needles! It would be too fun to win. Josey

  122. I really enjoyed seeing the article on handspun yarn. As a hand spinner it’s nice to see more inclusion of spinning in mainstream knitting magazines. Great job!

  123. I love Wendy Johnson’s fresh take on the watch cap in “Totally Tubular!”. I’m looking forward to making a “Sun Sliced Scarf” to cheer me up this winter.

  124. I am surrounded by people that think I have “enough” yarn, so I would like to print The Yarn Stylist by Katelynn Mayer ,Top 100 reasons to buy yarn and hang it by my stash. I love the Walking into Newyear socks, and it would not be me without mentioning the food,yes I will make the Lebkuchen! AKA Nestknits on Ravelry.

  125. So hard to choose a favourite – Komeeta mittens and Confection Hat stand out as great gifts – if I can bear to part with them!
    Look interesting to knit, too!

  126. i love the look of the sandrilene cardi and the wild cherry sweater is fabulous too! the tutorials are wonderful as always!
    karen
    aka sokker on ravelry

  127. Perfect timing, I’m starting a project that requires an I cord. The Sexy Knitter’s video was a perfect and timely reminder for me.

  128. Ripen – by Meghan Jackson is just what I have been looking for. A solid center with a lace edge. Thanks for the pattern. P.S. love the entire issue.

  129. Ripen – by Meghan Jackson is just what I have been looking for. A solid center with a lace edge. Thanks for the pattern. P.S. love the entire issue.

  130. Great patterns! I love both the Komeeta mittens and Sophie’s mittens. I have never done colorwork and the Komeeta mittens may be my first attempt.

  131. I love the Riffle Gloves and Fingerless Mitts. My favorite glove pattern (up to now) has been Offhand Gloves from Issue #8 of Knitcircus. I also appreciate the article on Tubular Cast on by Wendy Knits. Thanks for such a great magazine!

  132. The cover sweater is my favorite, will be on the needles next, and the cute toddler hat in the browns is perfect for my granddaughter. Great issue!

    • Hi, Pam, Thanks for being excited about KNitcircus! Unfortunately, the back issues aren’t on sale right now, but we’re preparing for a big website upgrade, and all of them will be available for purchase/download then!

      • can you please give me an idea of how long you are thinking this will take — a week a month — I have my wool and I want to get started on the pattern I saw in this magazine — but I won’t let it sit long — I will be choosing something else very soon I believe — I have nothing on needles and that NEVER happens.

      • Hi, Pam, that magazine was published over a year ago, and the patterns from the issue are no longer available. We are hoping to include past magazines for purchase on the new website, which should be up in mid to late March. Also, rights to the designs have reverted to the designers, so you can contact the person directly and find out if she is offering it for sale as an individual pattern. Best, Jaala

      • Is there anything I can read about this delay and having everything tanked? I can’t find anything anywhere — just notices that everything is not posted

Leave a Reply

