Guest Book Review: Knits that Fit, by Rachel Dickman

 We're very fortunate to have designer Rachel Dickman with us today; she's designed a crop of stylish sweaters for Knitcircus; her most recent is the East Side Cardi in the current Fall Issue.

East side cardi by rachel dickman back 1
Rachel knows a thing or two about fitting sweaters, so we asked her to give us her thoughts on the new Knits that Fit collection by Potter Craft (review copy courtesy of Potter Craft).

Take it away, Rachel!


Knits that fit

Knits That Fit

 Published By:  Potter Craft 

When Jaala aske me to review this book, I was so excited.  It’s the perfect ‘fit’ for a sweater designer’s library!  I wasn’t disappointed when it arrived, either; there is some really good information about fitting your sweaters to your body as well as how to measure your body for the ideal fit. 

As I was going through some of the patterns and instructions, something felt a bit familiar to me.  So, I flipped to the front and read the preface (Why didn’t I start there, you ask?  Because for some reason, I always start paging through knitting books and magazines from the back to the front.  It’s crazy, I know, and I would make life a lot easier for myself if I would always just start at the beginning!).  Turns out that this is a ‘best of’ book, so there are excerpts on fit from Sally Melville, Amy Singer and Jillian Moreno as well as patterns previously published by Melissa Matthay, Sally Melville, Caddy Melville Ledbetter, Annie Modesitt and Berta Karapetyan.  If you own books and patterns by those authors and designers, you may be duplicating information with this purchase.

Since I don’t have any of those books in my knitting library, I am thrilled to have this one.  It includes in-depth information on measuring yourself and fit basics from Sally Melville, including suggestions on how to wear your sweater to get the most flattering look.  There is also an excerpt from ‘Big Girl Knits’ on customizing a pattern for curves, including some tips on creating side panels to expand your sweater for the exact fit you are looking for.

The only thing I wish that the publishers had done with this book is taken one pattern and marked it up for the reader so they could see how to put the information they gathered in the measuring portion of the book to work.  Knitting for any of the models in the book would be pretty straightforward, so it would have been nice if they had taken one sweater, adapted it to a model with a different shape and shown how they created the new look.  It wouldn’t have been necessary to do with all the patterns, but one would have been nice for the reader to see.  Other than that, the photography is pretty, and the patterns look to be well written; I didn’t see any of the “knit left front as per right front reversing the shaping” instructions that I find so maddening in knitting patterns.

There are 24 patterns in this book, ranging from beginner to advanced,  including pullovers, cardigans and tank tops.  There is something for every one and every body in this book.  The first thing that went into my queue was the Seashell Cardi by Berta Karapetyan.  I bet you can find one you want to queue, too!


One thought on “Guest Book Review: Knits that Fit, by Rachel Dickman

Leave a Reply

