Gifts Special Issue 2011

KC_Gifts2011_cover_small

Knitcircus Gifts 2011 is live! 

Inside, you'll find 13 knitting and crochet projects to warm the hearts of their lucky recipients, plus, recipes from some of our favorite designers, and  Laura Nelkin's article will have you confidently knitting with beads.

Bonus: Each Gifts pattern is available for individual sale! Click the yellow "purchase this pattern" button on the bottom of the pattern page.

To celebrate the Gifts season, we've got gifts for you! Kicking off our giveaway series in style, Knitpicks has generously provided three prizes: Lantern Moon recycled messenger bags, each with a skein of the new Stroll Glimmer yarn.

Gifts2011knitpicks2

Gifts2011knitpicksstroll
The colorful fair-trade bags feature lots of pockets, including an inside zipped one, to hold your works-in-progress and knitting tools.

Gifts2011knitpicks4
To Enter:

Leave a blog comment with your email or Ravelry/Twitter ID telling us your favorite pattern from the Gifts issue and/or favorite Knitpicks product, and you could take one of these home!

The giveaway runs through Sunday evening and we'll announce the winners Monday along with the next round of prizes to win.

Enjoy!

150 thoughts on “Gifts Special Issue 2011

  1. I love the milk cow…..how cute is that! But if the question is more what do I love for me – it’s Shapely.
    Favorite from Knit Picks? Can I list the book sale? or the Harmony DPNs for socks? Makes the Cookie A patterns so much easier!

  2. I love the Dugdale Cardigan and would so like to make one for my son. My favorite Knit Picks item is my ball winder. It works so well. I so need the Orange messenger bag. It is my favorite color and could be used by a guy (guy’s knitting bags are very hard to find).

  3. beautiful issue!
    I haven’t subscribed yet, but this issue may push me over the edge!
    I LOVE Susan’s cow, though I’m a fan of all things Susan.
    I’m eying up the Namaste Monroe bag in peacock (if I were a rich girl)!
    Thanks for the chance to win!
    javajennie on ravelry

  4. My favorite is my set of harmony interchangeables. They have completely changed my knitting. So fast, and they’re pretty too!
    Rav: culabrat

  5. Mr. Milk Cow (well, I suppose if it’s a cow, it’s not a Mr.!) is wonderful!! I also love Winter Tide and Flickering Fire.
    From Knit Picks, I love my Options interchangeable needles (I have the metal tips and have supplemented a few Harmony woods). Also love my ball winder!

  6. There’s not just one thing that I love about either the new Gifts Issue or Knitpicks. But if I have to say, I love the Knitpicks circular needles and the Shapley shawl is marveous. And then there’s the Cranberry Delight mitts or the Winter Tide Cowl….in other words, another great issue.

  7. I love that little milk cow and also Shapely.
    As for Knitpicks I could not knit without my Option interchangeables I love them.

  8. My favorite pattern from the Gifts issue is the Perle scarf by Laura Nelkin followed closely by the Flickering Fire Socks. I had a hard time choosing though as there are several patterns that I would love to knit.

  9. I have always loved doilies and have crocheted a lot of them. I love the shape of the Poinsettia Doily and would love to try knitting some.

  10. I love knitpicks city tweed yard, I made a sweater out of it last year and it was such a pleasure to knit with. I also have the options needles and I dearly love the sharp points. never use anything else now.

  11. For me it is a tie between the Winter Tide Cowl and the Flickering Fire socks — great patterns!
    PS: Love the upgrade on the download page!

  12. So hard to choose what I would want to knit first! I’m on a sock kick at the moment, so I love the Flickering Fire socks. But also pregnant and with a 2 and 4 year old at home I’m drawn to the Dugdale Cardigan and Blanket combo. And the beaded projects … always wanted to try that. So much knitting/crocheting, so little time! Rav amchart

  13. So hard to choose what I would want to knit first! I’m on a sock kick at the moment, so I love the Flickering Fire socks. But also pregnant and with a 2 and 4 year old at home I’m drawn to the Dugdale Cardigan and Blanket combo. And the beaded projects … always wanted to try that. So much knitting/crocheting, so little time! Rav amchart

  14. I’d have to say the Shapely Shawl is my favorite pattern from the magazine, and my favorite Knit Picks product is whatever one is currently in my hand at the time! Right now it’s the Options Nickel interchangable circulars. 🙂 Just binding off a project from them. 🙂
    Ravelry ID: PickleSoup
    Thanks for the offer!

  15. My favorite Knitpicks item is my yarn scale. I use it all the time and wonder why I did not get one sooner.
    The pattern from this latest issue would be Shapely. Looks like a nice simple shawl which would fit in with my life at the moment.

  16. I love the Flickering Fire Socks! They look fun to knit. And from KnitPicks, i have wanted to try the new stroll, so this would be perfect to win! Thank you for the contest. Rav ID-KittyKatz

  17. I like the shapely shawl, and I like stroll yarn. I get the knitpicks catalog mostly for the project ideas, the designers are great.

  18. I like the shapely shawl, and I like stroll yarn. I get the knitpicks catalog mostly for the project ideas, the designers are great.

  19. How silly is this – I love the little Knitpicks jumprings! I think it’s $2 or $4 for 100 stitch markers, and I’m always losing them. Rav ID amdeutsch

  20. I can’t wait to make Milk Cow, my favorite pattern in this issue. Susan does such a great job with her directions that this has to be knit for all my Wisconsin babies!

  21. I have to pick just one favorite? Well..the Grandson says it is Milk Cow by Susan Andersen. At 19 months….we are into animals in a BIG way.
    My favorite Knit Pick product would be the interchangeable needles…I love them all…metal for lace..wood for wool and most natural fibers…and the acrylic tips for cotton and acrylic. These are my ‘go to’ needles for everything! Always the right style and size!
    ravelry id: alwaysalice

  22. Shapely is my favorite pattern – love semi-circular shawls.
    Love my KnitPicks interchangeable Options needle sets and am always adding to them.
    Rav name knitlin

  23. Great issue!
    I love the Dugdale Cardigan and Blanket from this issue. And the KnitPicks needles (wood and metal) are my favorite KP product.
    knitsinpublic on ravelry and twitter.

  24. KnitPicks favorite – nickle 16 inch size 1 & 2 needles for socks.
    Use 3 for the knit and nap method but the do the knitting with the 3rd needle just like working with double points. Never pick up the wrong end of the needle to knit with. Fast and Fun and no stress. Can do 2 socks at once on 16 inch needles.

  25. My favorite pattern is the Poinsettia Doily. I think my favorite Knitpicks products are the circular needles. Love the pointy tips, flexible cables and the price is good too.
    laceandcables on Ravelry

  26. Love that cow! Favorite Knitpicks item is the set of Harmony DPS I use for sock knitting. ravelry I’d is ivyrose.

  27. I really like the Shapely shawl and will knit one for a Christmas gift, and of course I need one for myself. I missed out on the Knit picks Woodland winter mitts last year, and I’m certainly not going to let that happen again!

  28. I love Knit Picks Wool of the Andes yarn, for a nice basic wool. These bags are cute, and would love some pretty yarn! Thanks. bren7na on rav

  29. The new issue is nice! Cranberry Delight and Block Roll are my favorite pattern and item this issue but I love looking at all the yarns!

  30. The new issue is nice! Cranberry Delight and Block Roll are my favorite pattern and item this issue but I love looking at all the yarns!

  31. I like the cranberry delight mitts – and have waaaaay too many favorite knitpicks products to list here! (I just ordered some sugarbunny, can’t wait to give it a try)
    My Ravelry ID is stefaniegrrr

  32. I liked Flickering Fire socks at gift issue and I adore all the products from Knit Picks, especially their city Tweed yarn and Andean Chullo hat in grey color.

  33. Flickering Fire socks! Love them. And I can’t wait to try the Glimmer stroll. I have it in mind for a few people on my gift-giving list. I’m a big fan of the regular Stroll.

  34. Love the cow he is MOOOOO-VAH-LOUS!!;) I love Knitpicks handpainted stroll sock yarn…such soft yarn and outstanding colorways.
    kittypaco/Ravelry ID

  35. I love a lot of the patterns this time, but the one I’m most likely to knit soon is the Flickering Fire Socks; I’ve got some heavy DK that would work brilliantly in that pattern and my feet always need more socks!

  36. I really like the “Intermittent” reversible bag, and my favorite knit picks product are the knickel plated options needles. I rarely use any of my other needles! My Ravelry name is “Yarnygoodness”

  37. My favorite pattern from the gift issue is the Perle pattern and I can’t live without my emergency crochet hook that lives on my keys. It’s saved the project several times while I was out knitting and away from my supplies.

  38. My favorite pattern from the gift issue is the Perle pattern and I can’t live without my emergency crochet hook that lives on my keys. It’s saved the project several times while I was out knitting and away from my supplies.

  39. I LOVE the Shapely shawl…and the Cranberry Delight Mitts…and the Winter Tide cowl…and most definitely the Milk Cow (How cute is that?).
    Thank You for the inspiration to use my Harmony interchangeable needles!!!!

  40. I LOVE the Shapely shawl…and the Cranberry Delight Mitts…and the Winter Tide cowl…and most definitely the Milk Cow (How cute is that?).
    Thank You for the inspiration to use my Harmony interchangeable needles!!!!

  41. I love the Garden Party Mitts and Cranberry Delight. From KnitPicks I am sorely addicted to my Tiger yarn … have made several items with it. (Might have to buy more….)
    Anaferhana on Ravelry

  42. I think both the Flickering Fire Socks and Knitpicks City Tweed worsted are spectacular! Thank you for the generous giveaway.

  43. I love Shapely and the Flickering Fire Socks – great issue! My favorite thing from Knit Picks…Felici sock yarn.

  44. I love the little doily pattern but I plan to make them even smaller and use them as xmas ornaments, as I collect them. As for knitpicks yarn, I really love their stroll handpainted sock yarns. I think I might have every color by now!

  45. I love the Shapely Shawl its beautiful. As for my Favorite Knit Picks Item I will say its’ their Palette yarn line so many beautiful colors for a nice price.

  46. I love the Milk Cow pattern, although not likely to knit one. Otherwise the Dugdale blanket. One of my favourite Knitpicks products is the “Knit Happy Idea Notebook”….one place to keep all those “wish list” items in.

  47. Another gorgeous wish book! Hard to choose which pattern I love the tam but as I live on a Wisconsin Farm it’s pretty much required that I knit up the whimsical cow although I am already planning to alter the pattern from a Holstein to a cute Jersey.
    (on rav cguard)

  48. I like Shapely and Perle but the zippered muff is so unique and modern. The golden boy’s cardigan is also unusual ….and did you say choose one? I treasure the books I have bought from KnitPicks at 40% off.

  49. I love the Winter Tide Cowl and the Poinsettia Doily. The doily would look really pretty in the Stroll Glimmer yarn, too!
    (lindaran on Rav)

  50. My favorite Knitpicks is Felici sock yarn, and I was sure happy to see the return of the Felici classic colors Aquarium and Tyrian Purple. Must knit more socks! But if I win the bag and Stroll Glimmer, I don’t think I will make socks from it – the Glimmer would be nice in a lacy scarf.

  51. The Shapely Shawl is my favorite pattern in this issue. And my favorite Knitpicks item is by far their Harmony interchangeable needles…….I use them for everything!

  52. Your new Gifts issue is great! My favorites are Perle and the Milk Cow. I can see myself making several Perle scarves as gifts. From Knit Picks, my favorite thing is the nickel Options set. I wouldn’t knit lace with anything else. The tips are so pointy and make lace projects go quickly at an affordable. Rav ID: Claribel

  53. I’m loving the Cranberry Delights Set pattern! Sooo cute and I love the beading. A lovely finishing touch 🙂
    Hannonle @ Ravelry

  54. Wow… I like all of these patterns, but my favorite seems to be Winter Tide. I’d love to try using KP’s Sugarbunny making it if worsted yarn is needed. The Sugarbunny blend seems to be perfect for a cowl. I’m DragonMommie on ravelry and twitter.

  55. I’m torn between the milk cow, which looks so cute, and the Intermittent bag. I love knit pick’s stroll sock yarn.
    ColeyAnn on ravelry

  56. I’m torn between the milk cow, which looks so cute, and the Intermittent bag. I love knit pick’s stroll sock yarn.
    ColeyAnn on ravelry

  57. Oooh, the pattern that jumped out at me is Shapley! I’ve been looking for a shawl that won’t fall off my shoulders.
    Tutorgal on Ravelry

  58. Oooh, the pattern that jumped out at me is Shapley! I’ve been looking for a shawl that won’t fall off my shoulders.
    Tutorgal on Ravelry

  59. Lots of great patterns, but I am totally a sucker for Susan B. Anderson’s toys, so I pick the cow! I am also looking forward to reading the Laura Nelkin article, because beads still intimidate me.
    My favorite KP product is my set of interchangeable needles — I have the original nickle plated, with a few of the harmony tips purchased later. I use them for almost everything!

  60. I’m really a fan of the Cherry Cordial scarf. It’s not my usual style, but for some reason I’m really inspired to knit it.

  61. I’m really a fan of the Cherry Cordial scarf. It’s not my usual style, but for some reason I’m really inspired to knit it.

  62. My Ravelry ID is PprmntMochaMama
    I can’t wait to make “Milk Cow” for my daughter away at university. I’ll mail it to her with a box of your Tropical White Chip cookies (and some money to get some actual milk for her cookies). As far as Knit Picks goes, I love their variety – if I need it, Knit Picks has it.

  63. My Ravelry ID is PprmntMochaMama
    I can’t wait to make “Milk Cow” for my daughter away at university. I’ll mail it to her with a box of your Tropical White Chip cookies (and some money to get some actual milk for her cookies). As far as Knit Picks goes, I love their variety – if I need it, Knit Picks has it.

  64. Following some common themes, I’d have to say the cow is just adorable, and I’d love to try the Shapely. It looks like a good mix of lace and easy for this beginner in knitting shawls and lace.
    As for my favorite Knitpicks? Whatever is currently on the sticks or cables! It’s about 6 projects right now: Imagination on my 4″ Harmony dpns, a couple of scarves on my harmony or nickel interchangeables, my Mochimochi bunny in Sugarbunny on Harmony dpns. And a cart full waiting for my next purchase!
    DCAlaneKnits on Ravelry

  65. My favorite design in this issue is Julie Rousculp’s socks. Yes, she is my friend and I am biased, but even if I weren’t they were be my favorite. 🙂

  66. Alas, the KnitPicks products are not mostly readily available in the UK! You can get the needles in a few shops, but the yarn is hard to come by; but I did manage to get hold of some of the Felici sock yarn in ‘Time Traveler’ for a pair of wibbly-wobbly timey-wimey socks, and it was lovely to knit with.
    As for the patterns … well, I’ve been unemployed for 5 years now, so I can’t afford to buy any of them, but Shapely and Intermittent both look like things I would both knit and use!
    I’m Knitronomicon on both Ravelry and Twitter.

  67. Cranberry Delight is fabulous. A crochet project thats looks knitted. Beautiful! Knitpicks angora & merino Sugar Bunny is scrumptious.
    Ravelry name – knitmeone

  68. I love my knitpicks acrylic needle set. I haven’t had time to peruse the new issue, but I’m sure there is lots to love, isn’t there always?
    I’m beccab on ravelry.

  69. I love the “winter tide” pattern also the cranberry delight by Allison Harding!You know I will be making those cookies and muffins!!!!Knitpicks I love the Harmony needles and the book sales!

  70. I love the Milk Cow and Shapely. From KnitPicks, I’ve loved everything especially the City Tweed yarns and the Zephyr needles (of course, the fast shipping as well!)
    I’m morganavelina on Ravelry.

  71. I love my harmony interchangeable needles! My favorite gifts patterns are Shapely, Winter Tide, & Intermittent
    I am TripletMom on ravelry 🙂

  72. I love knitpicks and order a lot of yarn from them. So far my favorite Knitpicks yarn is the Stroll Tonal sock yarn. I also love their Palette yarn (The Opal Heather Colourway is to die for!) and their many patterns, especially those by SusannaIC are amazing!

Leave a Reply

