Fall Knitcircus 2011 Live! And Celebrate Fall Knitting Giveaways

Fall2011_cover_web
Welcome to Fall, with the biggest and best Knitcircus ever! With 26 knitting and crochet patterns, there's something for everyone you want to keep cozy as the weather turns cool.

ETA: thanks so much to everyone who entered! This contest is closed, but there's more in the next entry. πŸ˜‰

To celebrate the Return to Fall Knitting, we've got a big Fall Giveaway for you, courtesy of our generous knitting-goods friends.

IMG_7609
It's so big, we're breaking it up into a festival of giveaways!

Today's prizes:

1. From Blue Sky Alpacas, an entire Graphic Pullover kit using Techno yarn, reviewed in the Fall Issue,  the Secrets of the Laidback Knitters Book pictured above, a set of Elegant Knitter at Goose Pond Stitch markers and a Pico Accuardi Dyeworks mini-skein.

IMG_7572

IMG_7495
2. Blue Sky Alpacas Heartgyle Vest kit, the Family Knits book by Debbie Bliss pictured above,  a Miss Purl notions tin, and Pico Accuardi Dyeworks mini-skein.

IMG_7577

3.  A skein of Yarn Hollow Trellis, 620 yards of Merino/Bamboo, a copy of Erika Knight's Simple Knitting, and an Elegant Knitter at Goose Pond sheep gauge checker.

IMG_7614

Two more winners will  receive a Year's Subscription to Knitcircus (5 Issues). If you already have one, extend yours or give to a friend!

To enter, please comment here, on the Knitcircus Ravelry Group or  use #knitcircusfall on Twitter and tell us your favorite part about the Fall Issue, or your favorite Blue Sky, Pico Accuardi or Yarn Hollow yarn. Winners will be chosen by the Random Number Generator on Friday, August 26th, and the winners and next giveaway will be announced! Make sure to leave your email or rav ID when commenting on the blog so we can contact you.

 

181 thoughts on “Fall Knitcircus 2011 Live! And Celebrate Fall Knitting Giveaways

  1. Wow…what a great give away! Another wonderful Knitcircus issue. Both the “Turning Point Shawlette” and the “August Pansey Shawl” caught my eye. Would love to work up both of these projects.
    Andrea W
    KnitAweigh- Ravelry

  2. What a fantastic spread of prizes!!
    I love the sweater on the cover of the next Knitcircus issue – I’m not a fan of sweaters that have to be tied to stay shut, because the ties inevitably droop or loosen, and the thing just doesn’t stay looking very good for very long. But this sweater is great – it has that nice belt/tie look, but since it’s just for show it would KEEP looking nice. I think I’m going to put this on my short-list of things to make…

  3. I have been thinking about using left over yarn to knit a few cowls, so the article about Lacey cowls stood out for me. And I enjoyed the interview with Jared Flood too.

  4. I love Brooklyn Tweed (aka Jared Flood) and I really enjoyed that interview. I’m also loving the “design your own cowl” — I want to dabble in design, but start with a small project. This is perfect!
    Rav: sbnyc

  5. I love Brooklyn Tweed (aka Jared Flood) and I really enjoyed that interview. I’m also loving the “design your own cowl” — I want to dabble in design, but start with a small project. This is perfect!
    Rav: sbnyc

  6. Excited to be thinking of wonderful knits to create for the coming cold weather here in New England. I’m lusting after that luscious Blue Sky Alpaca Techno — can’t go wrong with alpacas for warmth here! Some very fun hats and sweaters in this issue — think I’ll have to add the Salmagundi hat to my fall/winter hat collection. Thanks for a great issue and the opportunity to win!

  7. Excited to be thinking of wonderful knits to create for the coming cold weather here in New England. I’m lusting after that luscious Blue Sky Alpaca Techno — can’t go wrong with alpacas for warmth here! Some very fun hats and sweaters in this issue — think I’ll have to add the Salmagundi hat to my fall/winter hat collection. Thanks for a great issue and the opportunity to win!

  8. I’m new to Knitcircus but I love the variety of projects and articles. Everything I love in a knitting mag. I will be back again and again and again…

  9. I’m new to Knitcircus but I love the variety of projects and articles. Everything I love in a knitting mag. I will be back again and again and again…

  10. Just scanned thru the mag and cannot believe how many of the patterns I want to knit right now!!! Please add me to the contest, and I can’t wait to get my hands on this!

  11. Just scanned thru the mag and cannot believe how many of the patterns I want to knit right now!!! Please add me to the contest, and I can’t wait to get my hands on this!

  12. This is a great issue! I think it’s the best one so far!
    I am especially excited by all the cool accessory patterns, there are some real gems in there.
    Thanks for the great magazine!

  13. I love that there was 87 pages of things for me to salivate over. I am particulary happy there were so many cowls for Christmas gifts. Good job Jaala!

  14. I can’t pin down one thing I love about KnitCircus – everything is so well done. I really enjoyed the interviews with Brooklyn Tweed and SweetGeorgia. I like to hear how people got their start. Great issue!
    KathNits on Ravelry

  15. Wow! I am going to date myself but this was like the feeling I got as a kid when the Sears Big Book was delivered to our house and my sisters and I would sit and dream about Christmas! I love not only the inspiration but the book reviews are awesome and it came just as I actually got to my last wip and am looking for a new pattern to start on and the Jamie hat is just the ticket! Thank you!
    cguard on rav

  16. I am knitting a scarf with Blue Sky’s Techno right now and I LOVE working with it. Have been eyeing that pattern for a while now too. *fingers crossed*

  17. I am knitting a scarf with Blue Sky’s Techno right now and I LOVE working with it. Have been eyeing that pattern for a while now too. *fingers crossed*

  18. Another great issue! So much I’m attracted to in this issue. Woot!
    I especially love the interviews you do (in this issue the interview with Jared Flood was fab). Thanks for giving us a closer look inside the knit world!
    Heather (Boutrosbabe on Ravelry)

  19. I liked all the sock and shawl patterns because my stash is full of sock yarn, but I especially liked both of the men’s sweater patterns, as it gives me a way to (maybe!) get my husband to realize that knitting can be good for him, too!

  20. Love the sweaters, especially that not all of the models are wafer thin πŸ˜‰
    Would like to add my endorsement of the Yarn Lovers Lotions. I found them at The Studio in Kansas City, and love them, especially the Tin Cup Blend.

  21. Love, Love, Love the beautiful patterns. Even though it is 105 degrees outside right now I am anxious to start knitting!!!!!

  22. My favorite pattern has to be the cover shot; I love the square look of the neckline. I’ve wanted to knit a sweater like that for a while now, but I haven’t seen the perfect pattern before now.
    Ravelry ID: introvert

  23. The whole issue looks fantastic. Lots to read and learn. I love the East Side Cardi. Looks like a fresh start to winter. Definately going on the NEED to knit list!

  24. I don’t have a LYS, and so my favorite part is all the photos, ads, and reviews that introduce me to yarns I wouldn’t hear about otherwise!

  25. I don’t have a LYS, and so my favorite part is all the photos, ads, and reviews that introduce me to yarns I wouldn’t hear about otherwise!

  26. The hat and sock patterns have my vote. Small easy projects to use for holiday gifts. Perfect timing for them to appear

  27. The fall issue of Knitcircus is fabulous! It’s hard to figure out what my favorite is but I’m going to have to say THE PATTERNS!! I must love them because I downloaded them all. The hard part will be deciding which to knit first…
    Thank you for a delightful dilemma!

  28. Oh, this magazine is excellent! I love to get to know people better through interviews. The pictures really capture your attention.

  29. i really like blue sky alpacas bulky..i have a soft spot for the curry colorway! i would die if i won!..such lovely items..that techno alone is my entire knitting budget for the year πŸ™‚ thanks!im off to look at the new knitcircus..

  30. My favorite part of the FALL issue was the Ruckle Hat. So, I purchased a subscription and now I’m entering this contest. I’m so glad that you have included Goose Pond notions….I just love that site and have purchased many things from them.

  31. My favorite part of the magazine was the interview with Jared Flood. I love his designs. Next was the scrunchie hat in blue – very interesting construction and perfect for a chemo hat.

  32. Hi! I just poured over the new issue–wow, what great work! My favorite is a tie between the Ruckle hat and the Little Braided Cables socks. Thanks for the giveaway!
    Tutorgal on Ravelry

  33. What do I love about Knitcircus? The reviews! No, the articles! No, the patterns! What do I love about this issue? 1) The article on designing a lace cowl. I’ve been wanting to learn to design; this looks like a great place to start. 2) The article on attitude. 3) The sock patterns, the tunic pattern, and the heart scarf pattern (just for starters.) — Lady-Lark from Ravelry

  34. My favourite part was the article from the LYS employee, which I used to be. For every 50 happy customers, there was always a
    Grumpy Gus. And it was MY fault. But I love all the patterns and
    all the different advertisers. You never find those in the newsstand magazines.

  35. The slouchy hat and the sock patterns are my favorites in this issue. The Jared Flood interview looks very interesting and I’m looking forward to reading it.

  36. I LOVE the article about knitters and Bad Attitude! And the interview with Jared Flood, and the LACE! In that order.
    I’m badgersmama on Ravelry.

  37. My favorite Blue Sky is the Skinny Dyed that I am using right now for a c2knits tee. The magazine is great too!
    Katbrown (rav)

  38. Oooh aaaaah…I JUST discovered your magazine….wow…LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!! It’s hard to choose my favorite thing in the Fall issue because I have so many…but one of my many favorites is the Sunshine &Fog Tunic…no wonder you chose it for the cover!
    OK gotta go flip through all the back issues too…so much catching up to do!!

  39. Oooh aaaaah…I JUST discovered your magazine….wow…LOVE, LOVE, LOVE!!!! It’s hard to choose my favorite thing in the Fall issue because I have so many…but one of my many favorites is the Sunshine &Fog Tunic…no wonder you chose it for the cover!
    OK gotta go flip through all the back issues too…so much catching up to do!!

  40. I have been going to purchase a collection for sometime now, but this fall issue is absolutely terrific. Can’t wait to get more details on the November, Madison event.

  41. Yikes- so much to choose from … I loved the articles this issue-the one about colorwork in particular. Patterns- curses for having to pick just one … Quadrilateral could actually inspire me to really try to pick up needle and hook simultaneously. And Little Braided Cables is yelling at me the same way the Jera pattern did. While I don’t actually want the school year to start, I am feeling a flicker of excitement to pick my projects when I’m on public-parent-at-practice duty.

  42. Yikes- so much to choose from … I loved the articles this issue-the one about colorwork in particular. Patterns- curses for having to pick just one … Quadrilateral could actually inspire me to really try to pick up needle and hook simultaneously. And Little Braided Cables is yelling at me the same way the Jera pattern did. While I don’t actually want the school year to start, I am feeling a flicker of excitement to pick my projects when I’m on public-parent-at-practice duty.

  43. Love reading each issue – this time around I really enjoyed the interview with Felicia Lo of Sweet Georgia Yarns. She’s a local gal so loved learning more about her!

  44. Love reading each issue – this time around I really enjoyed the interview with Felicia Lo of Sweet Georgia Yarns. She’s a local gal so loved learning more about her!

  45. Wow – what a wonderful issue – I love the article on “Who Makes Your Yarn” as I’m interested in starting to spin… I love many of the patterns: Sunshine & Fog Tunic, Buckle, Dolcetto, Turning Point Shawlette, and ALL of the other lacey shawls/shawlettes.. Love the hats, too – there’s no way to pick a favorite at this point. Lovely issue! Stephanie (indigodogmt on Ravelry)

  46. It was a hard choice, but my favorite part of the fall issue was Wendy Johnson’s design-it-yourself lace cowl article …
    My favorite Blue Sky yarn is their sportweight, my favorite Pico Accuardi yarn is Gossamer Lace (in Tillamook Sky, particularly), and my favorite Yarn Hollow yarn is Brocade (for now, at least!).
    Please enter me in the contest.
    I’m gkgreen on Ravelry.
    Thanks!

  47. I love all the beautiful shawl patterns – I’m a total shawl fan. As for the yarns, Blue Sky Alpacas Techno has me very intrigued! Keep up the good work with Knitcircus, I love your magazine that is fresh and full of useful information and endless inspiration!

  48. I agree this is the best issue I have seen. Such gorgeous designs and gorgeous photos and you actually got Winslet to model? That is amazing!
    affiknity on Ravelry

  49. My favorite things are the product and book reviews. They give me important info so I can consider purchasing. Then also love the recipe at the end!
    dendiane on ravelry

  50. I LOVE knitting shawls/shawlettes with sock yarn, so this issue is wonderful (last one was, too). I think my favorite is Dolcetto.
    Thanks for another great issue. scienceknitster on Ravelry

  51. Another wonderful issue, congratulations! I love the article about Colorwork and also the interview about Jared Flood.
    fait on ravelry

  52. What an awesome giveaway! Thanks so much for offering this great stuff! I love the men’s sweaters and Urlough socks! bren7na on Ravelry.

  53. Awesome prizes! I’m making a vest with S&C fine. It’s beautiful yarn–I love wool and silk together! This is my first time on your site. Very nice.
    momartist on Ravelry

  54. I love this issue. I already have a couple patterns in my queue πŸ™‚ I enjoyed the articles and reviews and since I am looking for a soft, soft wool to make a Girasol, the yarn reviews were spot on.
    alicita on Ravelry

  55. Spoilt for choice when having to choose a favourite, but I particularly liked August Pansy Shawl as the colour was vibrant and the design was super.
    Sandrada on Rav.

  56. Spoilt for choice when having to choose a favourite, but I particularly liked August Pansy Shawl as the colour was vibrant and the design was super.
    Sandrada on Rav.

  57. Holy crapola! I just discovered your mag via the knottygnome knits, and I have NO IDEA how I’ve never heard of you – I’m in love now πŸ™‚ Thanks! My favorite part about this issue is the interview with Jared Flood – I seriously love that guy!

  58. Holy crapola! I just discovered your mag via the knottygnome knits, and I have NO IDEA how I’ve never heard of you – I’m in love now πŸ™‚ Thanks! My favorite part about this issue is the interview with Jared Flood – I seriously love that guy!

  59. Thanks so much for the chance to win! My favourite part of Fall 2011’s Knitcircus is the pattern for M is For… with the kitten in the gloves? So perfect! There need to be more kittens in pattern photos, methinks!
    I’m envycreative on Ravelry.

  60. Wow! I think you outdid yourselves with this issue. There are so many wonderful patterns that I want to try, and the recipe for the scones will definitely be tried! But my favorite this time are the great articles you have. I can hardly wait to have the time to read through each and every one of them. Great job!!
    Of course, I also love this giveaway and do hope my number is the one that comes up. πŸ™‚
    Zowmom on Ravelry

  61. My two favorite things (can’t decide!) are Jared Flood’s thoughtful interview and the men’s sweaters. I like that there is more than one sweater and while they are still simple and manly (so men will wear them!) they’re not yawn-inducingly boring. Usually in a collection there will be only one man’s sweater and it’s a boring rectangle. it’s boring to knit, boring to wear, boring to look at. but these patterns have interest- patterns for men (wearers) and knitters (be they whatever gender!)
    on ravelry, i’m onemoreday

  62. My favorite part about this issue of Knitcircus is the diversity of the models – we humans come in so many shapes, sizes, colors, ages … thanks as always for Knitcircus’s interesting articles and patterns.
    lfit on ravelry

  63. I love the Interwoven hat and the Little Braided Cables socks. The Jared Flood interview was great too. Love his designs.
    Rav amchart

  64. I LOVE the cover sweater, as well as the sweater by Stephanie Tallent (maybe I’m in a purple mood…)
    I’m jashleyslc on ravelry, and thanks for hosting such a great giveaway!

  65. I couldn’t pick just one of the shawls as my favourite about this issue, so I’m going to say that I adore the wide range of choice!
    (MayaMoonie on Ravelry)

  66. I love the online magazine – I love the Block Roll accessory and I love the Sophisticate Jacket
    THanks for the opportunity to win this beautiful prize.
    lorraine
    mabbettlorraine at yahoo dot com

  67. The new Knitcircus is amazing! I love the Ruckle Hat and the Interwoven hat, which are just gorgeous and different. And that purple color pops out! The Turning Point shawl is also lovely, as is the M is for…mitts. I recently got the chance to use Blue Sky Alpacas Bulky. It’s lovely to knit with and the projects go by so fast. BTW, that Techno pattern is stunning!

  68. Fall? What’s not to love about anything from the fall? I’m ready to get to work on some new fingerless mitts, scarves, and to finish up the sweater I’ve been working on all summer. The fall issue just adds fuel to the fire!

  69. I’ve only had the chance to take a quick look so far (I’ll be spending some quality time exploring the Issue this weekend) and I’m intrigued by the Design It Yourself Lace Cowl

  70. I hope I’m not too late to enter for this drawing. I haven’t looked at Knitcircus at all, but I love just about any knitting magazine. πŸ™‚
    I have used some Blue Sky Suri Alpaca yarn and I LOVE IT!!! So soft, and such gorgeous colors!
    Ravelry name: wyvern713

  71. Hope I’m not too late –
    What’s not to love about Knit Circus? I love the variety of patterns and the focus on smaller, independent providers. Keep it up!
    As far as favorites goes, I’m currently knitting a shawl with Yarn Hollow’s Chrome merino/tencel yarn in a beautiful green. It’s soft and smooth and silky. Just tremendous!

  72. I’m so happy to be introduced to your magazine via Juniper Moon Farm blog. I enjoyed the Jared Flood article and am looking forward to reading more. Thanks! Jennifer
    ayearandaday on Rav.

  73. Thanks for the giveaway! I’m very excited to have won! Not sure if I remembered to leave my contact info it’s allirosen(at)hotmail(dot)com. Thanks again!

Leave a Reply

