Rocky Mountain Dyeworks

November RMD yarn

Newly Dyed Yarns waiting to be reskeined and packaged.

Our next contest will feature a chance to name one of Rocky Mountain Dyeworks' new luxury yarns! Yay. If you haven't rfound this indy dyer from the Canadian Rockies, you're in for a real treat. 

Mini Feature: Rocky Mountain Dyeworks

Owner and dyer exraordinaire Hasmi Ferguson  says: 

I love colour!  Saturated and rich colours in jewel tones are my favourites. I get excited experimenting with different colour combinations and am always suprised by the results. I am a fibre artist who started on this journey when I started making my own dowry. Born to immigrant parents, I was encouraged at a young age, to learn all "women's work", to show off my marriageable qualities.  Instead of finding a husband, I found a love for textiles. I learned to sew, knit, crochet (badly), cross stitch, beadwork, quilt.  If I could live nine lives I would focus on each of these textile arts as they are all equally deserving of life-long study. Instead I have decided to focus on creating colour so I can work with different materials.

I have studied various textile arts with some well known (Art Quilt – Nancy Crow) and others equally talented, but lesser known artists (including Rug Hooking Dyeing – Wanda Kerr, Painted Quilts – Susan Shie). I have started but have not completed an online master quilting course; I did the dyeing module and stopped.  I still dream of going back to complete the entire course.

I have been a member of The Textile Museum in Canada since the mid-80's.  I have been dyeing and selling my hand-dyed products since 2007. 

Tune in Wednesday to see pics of the yarn and tell Hasmi how to title it!

Oh, and Purl says hi.

November purl hi






Leave a Reply

