We interrupt your regularly scheduled knitting blog for breaking news of the cutest kind.

November pearl 1
Pearl. Or Purl, as she's known to the knitters of the house.

We already have three cats we love, so adding a fourth is..a little crazy?

November mini

But the Humane Society had so many cats and kittens, they emailed that they were having a sale, $5 for cats and $20 for kittens (down from the usual $125). Over breakfast, we started playfully telling Mike (our token holdout) how much fun it would be to have a new cat, and how they needed a home….

"I think our kids are old enough to have a kitten," he said. When I was little, we had baby kittens and I've always remembered how fun it was. I've been waiting a long time for this day."

So we threw on our clothes and headed out to Adoption Center West. And all of the kittens were gone, and the only cats available coudn't be in homes with kids.

We trucked out to Mounds. They had a very friendly young adult there, but no kittens.

We headed all the way across town to the main shelter. They had eight kittens….and twenty-six people on the waiting list. After an hour's wait, we weren't much closer to the top of the list, but there weren't any kittens left.

We re-grouped. We soothed some very ruffled small feelings with a very late lunch at IHOP. And we looked on Craigslist for kittens.

The first person we called had just given away her two little tabbies, but she had a five-week-old that would be ready next week; could we wait until then? We could.

So it was all settled.

Then she called back.

"I was just talking to a friend of mine seven miles down the road, and she has one a few weeks older, a little gray tabby. We think its mother may have been hit by a car. If you'd like, I can run and get her and she can come home with you tonight."

We liked. In fact, some of us squealed.

November pearl 2
We came, we saw, we returned with Pearl. Or Purl.

November pearl 3
All photos taken by Pearl's young fan club.

She's a bit rough around the edges; her paws look a little too pink-speckled and her belly's suspiciously ballooned; she's missing all of her whiskers on one side, so we're keeping her away from the other kitties until the vet sees her tomorrow. But she's our little Pearl.

As  a happy treat from Purl, I'm giving away three Winter Pattern Collections today. Just leave a comment or ravmessage me (jaaladay) about the kitten.  If kittens aren't your bag or you just like Knitcircus, tell me favorite pattern or article from the Winter Issue. The giveaway will run until Wendesday am.


23 thoughts on “Pearl

  1. Awwwww…. how cute! My daughter saw the photos and said, “Oh, I wish we could get a kitty!” The adorable Purl might have weakened me into agreeing if it wasn’t for reservations about how our very LARGE German Shepherd would react to a cat.

  2. How exciting! My Husband and I are allergic to cats, but I have an 11 year old cat loving daughter who we take to the local MSPCA to get her fixing of cat cuddles about once a month. We watched “Cutest Cat Videos”on Animal Planet the other day. Pearl / Purl would fit right in. All the best to you all!!
    kristinfitzgerald on Ravelry

  3. There is NOTHING like a kitten. How wonderful for your kids. Pearl is a pretty little thing.
    If you want to see some wild action, the favorite cat toys among my felines are little felted balls. They fly, disappear, reappear the next day, and are much loved. I found mine at; buy several packs.

  4. Wowie Zowie she is a adorable. I’ve never had a kitten, both of my cats were rescues, but young adults. Kittens must be tons of fun. Someday…but with a deal like that how could you not? I also love the whole Winter Issue. Especially Sweet Cicely, I already asked Santa to bring me the yarn in Pomegranate. There is certainly a lot of beauty/good juju/happiness coming from over at Casa de Knitcircus.

  5. Kittens are so cute, but I am so allergic! Love my little puppy I adopted from the shelter in July. She’s such a sweet thing.
    My favorite pattern…winterside! I love that color work band!

  6. I had to get off those types of lists or I would end up with a house full of cats (not that there’s anything wrong with that)! I am glad a little kitty with such a tough start found a loving home and I hope all goes well with the vets! I have two adopted stray cats and they are wonderful!

  7. Purl is a perfect name! We went from a one-cat to two-cat family last year after the local news did a story on how families struggling financially were having to give up pets. We wanted to open our home to a second cat and take some burden off the shelters, however small. And I love starting with kittens – they’re so precious!

  8. I just stumbled across your blog/magazine and saw this cute little creature, what a sweetie! And what a wonderful thing for you to do. All of my kitties have been rescues. I just purchased the Winter patterns so I am just commenting because!

  9. YAY!!!!! Lucky little Purl!
    Looks a bit like my own most recent rescue, the beauteous (Invisi)Bella, who got dumped from a car into my neighborhood at around 4wks old, imagine!!! and lodged herself under my neighbor’s porch, where it took me a month to get her to trust me enough to come out! Good luck with your little girl, sounds as though you all were “meant for each other!” kwim? The *best* cats are, IMO the one whose lives “somehow” connect with ours.
    WHOO, HOO!!! Yay, Purl!! after she’s been vetted and her tummy found to be OK (hopefully she wasn’t hit by the same car her mum was), please give ALL your kits a hug from me/us and an extra bit of something nice to nibble!

  10. She’s gorgeous, hope the vet clears her as being ok. We’re waiting for another 3 weeks before our 2 rescue kittens are ready to leave their mum. We’re getting 2 girls, a black one with a white star on her chest (Star) and a ginger girl who we haven’t come up with a name for yet, everything we’ve thought of so far is food related!
    Unfortunately they were both full price, but we need to get a pair to help us recover from losing perfect puss earlier in the year.

Leave a Reply

