Crunchy Caramel Goodness

October caramel corn
Homemade Caramel Corn!

It's baseball playoff season, which means our family rouses from its long baseball slumber and starts watching some games. Apparently the Phillies, Giants and Rangers are really good this year!

Some new friends had just talked up making homemade caramel corn last week, and Ms. D was even organized enough to write up the recipe for us! Making caramel corn starts out like making chewy caramel candy, which we've done before, but it involves a twist or two: first, you add baking soda to the cooked syrup, making it bubbly, then you pour it over the popped corn and bake the whole shebang at low heat to make it crunchy. I'm not sure where Ms. D's recipe originated, but it was almost identical to this one on Allrecipes. For the five quarts of popcorn, we used two batches of popcorn from our popcorn maker (half cup of unpopped kernels each). If you wanted to make it like Crackerjack, you could add Spanish peanuts maybe halfway through the baking.

It turned out sweet, crunchy and addictive; I found it way easy to just keep crunching my way through the innings.

Me: It's just as good as the stuff we've been buying every year in the container! If you put this in the tub, nobody would know it wasn't the same stuff.

Mike: Isn't it better than that stuff in the tub?

Me: I don't know, I've never had any other kind, so to me, it's the gold standard.

My dad pronounced it,"By far the best caramel corn I've ever had."

A safety note; there are points where you stir the caramel into the popcorn, and points where the caramel in the pan looks really good, and you'd think it might be cool. Don't be fooled like we were and end up with burned fingers (me) and a burned tongue (Li'l Buddy). Approach caramel with caution and long-handled stirring implements until it's all cooled.

In knitting news: I've got a Socks-from-the-Toe-Up-Two-At-a-Time class tonight at the Sow's Ear. I'm kind of scared to go, since I got the date of the first class and the Knitter's Guild meeting cross-pasted in my mind and ended up missing the first class completely. And I really wanted to go! So the teacher would be justified in just ignoring me and letting me stew in my own ignorance. Or whap me with some long needles. I'm hoping I've guessed right and they're done with the toe and instep, getting ready to turn the heel…

Hey, tomorrow we'll have a guest blog post by Knitcircus book reviewer Cindy K, telling us about one of her favorite books!

Happy Monday,







Leave a Reply

