Home again, home again….it feels good. Especially since Mike mopped the kitchen floor before we left and helped me get the place shipshape.

So we've been visiting Mike's relatives in Michigan–the kids spent most of the visit happily immersed in as many bodies of water as we could find.
Swim vacation We trotted up to Detroit for a wedding, then jaunted back to see Mike's mom and eat some delightful Italian Beef, then returned to garden bounty–my dad pruned our basil shrubs and welcomed us back with homemade pesto.
The garden has been going like gangbusters. Tomorrow we must make zucchini bread.Squash blossom And, I visited the Knitting Tree to drop off their magazines, and lo and behold, they'd just received huge boxes of yarn. You could practically swim in the gaily colored strands of wool. And, wouldn't you know that Kaffe Fassett has come out with a new yarn. Kaffe is like the guy you've had a crush on since kindergarten and still secretly harbor a yen for. I remember looking at Glorious Color with my mom in the 80's and swooning, so when I saw this, I knew that, like it or not, price would be no object.Yarn closeup

2 thoughts on “Jiggety-Jig

  1. Welcome home! I haven’t been to Michigan in so long. It is also funny that you would mention zucchini bread. I visited my Mom this weekend and she was doing the same thing. Huge zucchinis. She thinks it might be all the rain. Also, she makes an AMAZING chocolate chip zucchini muffin. They freeze perfectly and taste spectacular. If you would like the recipe just let me know. That yarn is also lovely. Rowan does muted Noro. I like the mutedness (is that a word?) though. Which colorway is it? I may have to make a trip to the Knitting Tree. Thanks for the update.

  2. OMG, I would loooove to have that recipe. In fact, you read my mind–I was just wondering on the drive home whether it would be possible to freeze the zucchini goods in some form so that I could do snack for my kids’ classes this fall!
    please send it to–jaala@jaalaspiro.com and I’ll try it out right away….
    The colorway is called Pink Candy–yum.
    take care,

Leave a Reply

