Kickin’ It Cold Style

Skye_cropped                     Boot

We are in the middle of a cold snap here in the north.  I am surviving it surprisingly well and I realized the other day that my winter wardrobe has been mostly taken over by wool items that I knit for myself.  It is such a satisfying feeling to be out in the cold, but warm and toasty wrapped in your own work.  I wonder if women in the old days often felt this satisfaction, they spun, knit, wove their own fabrics and clothing.  I suppose for them it may have been more of a survival thing than a satisfaction thing, but it really makes me appreciate the functionality of our craft.  I feel for my sisters in the balmy southlands, who may not get to experience this aspect of knitting with woolen fibers.

My outdoor outfit is fairly eclectic:  My wool turtleneck sweater in Noro Silk Garden, covered by my wonderful poncho in Plymouth watercolor.  For the hands, I use my Mrs. Beeton’s handwarmers in mohair blends.  For my feet, I finally broke down and purchased a pair of sorel boots to keep the tootsies warm, and I am lovin’ it. I don’t need to figure out wool socks just yet……  I usually don’t wear a hat since my thick hair keeps my head really warm, but when it is super cold, I will toss on an old soy/wool blend that I made a couple years ago. 

If I get a good enough vision, I would love to make an outdoor outfit that is a bit more cohesive, I  am not talking a vision of matching things, just a little bit less Mrs. Weasley…….

Stay warm!  I am hoping to get in a bunch more rows on my Bubble Nest sweater today.  It is really coming along.  I could have used it this weekend to stay warm but Oh well, it’s good motivation, right?


Leave a Reply

