My Baby is 3 and Book Review: Lucinda Guy’s “Handknits for Kids: 25 original designs for girls and boys”

Today was my middle daughter’s third birthday.  It is hard to believe how fast time has flown since the day she was born.  Looking back, I see that besides all those regular milestones that parents mark, I can track the time by projects that I’ve finished.  While it’s been mostly knitting, I’ve also done an awful lot of writing, felting, and mosaic.  What amazes me about it all is that after years and years of science and logic, my creativity came rushing back to me after this little girl was born.  I don’t really know what triggered it, but it began with a visit to an art store when she was 3 months old.  I haven’t stopped creating since.

Thank you so much, little daughter.

Here she is after blowing out the candles on her Lightening McQueen cake.  She was having so much fun.


This picture was taken this weekend, she’s wearing her little Wooly Cap from "Handknits for Kids: 25 original designs for girls and boys" by Lucinda Guy.  My friend Stacy gave this book to me for Christmas and this is the only pattern I have made yet out of it.  I knitted the cap using leftover Suri Dream from Knitpicks, and made the flower one night when I was fooling around with some other bits of leftover stash yarn.  The hat looked like it was cute in the picture, but the pattern was very hard to figure out.  I made three versions of this hat, with three different interpretations of the pattern.  I asked several of my friends, including my faithful co-blogger Jaala, and none of us could figure out what the pattern meant.  A search of knitting forums on the net only yielded other knitters confused with this pattern.  Oh well, it turned out OK.  Not great, but OK.  The girls keep it in their dress up basket. 

The rest of the patterns in the book look fabulous.  There are lots of opportunities to do colorwork in the patterns that while stylish, aren’t typical.  I really would like to make the Fantastic Flower Frock (Shown on the cover), and the Wildflower Sweater, but I am a bit scared of how incomprehensible the simple hat pattern was.  What if a sweater pattern is that confusing? There are also lots of little accessory and toy patterns sprinkled throughout.   The book is about 50% boy stuff, and good boy stuff at that.

I think I just need to take the plunge and do one of the bigger projects and see how it goes. I’ll get back to you when I take that step.


Leave a Reply

