Besides working on top-secret knitting projects for Knitcircus #6, I've been happily in my sewing room on and off for the past few weeks–here are a couple of late-breaking pics of my Valentine's Day projects: Heart pillow blog
A heart-shaped pillow for my mom, truly the Queen of Hearts. She loves Valentine's Day, and we had a special dinner at their house. She had decorated for the occasion with vintage valentines, little felted bonbons and even put all of the family pictures on her bulletin board into a heart shape.
I made a heart template out of a brown bag, and used a small piece of polka-dot fabric to make the bias tape. It took a lot of seams to put that relatively short piece of trim together! The base fabric is Kaffe Fassett, left over from an Amy Butler skirt pattern I'd made last spring.
Mom and I found the Heart-Shaped Junior Mints at Jo Ann fabrics–my dad loves mints, so that made his gift easy. I looked at other stores, but never found them anywhere else.

For the kids, Mike and I made paper valentines, and we gave them each a box of the little Conversation Hearts, plus I surprised them with these:
Napkins blog
New napkins for all of us! This Very Hungry Caterpillar fabric was so popular at my Local Fabric Store that I had to get my name on a special list–I only signed up for 1 yard, and it was so cute I now wish I'd gotten more. But the kids liked them, and we used them for most of the week before their first trip to the washer.

In other news the new Small Magazine is out. I love their aesthetic.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

